A Journey Through 2000 Years of European Art

Understand Art

“Treasure rooms della Galleria Borghese” – Roma, 2014, Mauro Fiorese

Following in the Footsteps of Great Masters

Botticelli, Vermeer, Picasso – their paintings fascinate even today and awake curiosity about the great masters’ mental processes and techniques. How did the ingenious revolutionary Caravaggio paint? How did Max Beckmann conceptualize his brutally realistic sketches of figures and scenes? With the project “KAIROS. The Right Moment” ZOTT Artspace takes a journey through 2000 years of European art history.

“”I am convinced that art is more interesting and fascinating when we understand how or under what circumstances it was created. Putting art – by all means playfully – into its context is what I want to achieve with ZOTT Artspace”. (Christian Zott)

Wolfgang Beltracchi working on the paintings for the exhibition “KAIROS. The right moment”. Closeups from works created using the artistic voices of Max Beckmann, Heinrich Campendonk and Lucas Cranach the Elder.

Actively understanding art eras

With the stroke of a brush, ZOTT Artspace makes the painting styles of great masters come alive. As part of the project “KAIROS. The Right Moment“, the contemporary artist Wolfgang Beltracchi will be creating paintings using the artistic voices of artists long since deceased. Visitors to ZOTT Artspace can literally look over the shoulder of the master adopter of artistic voices, offering them the opportunity to gain a more in depth understanding of the creative processes of the shining lights in European art history. For each picture motif, ZOTT Artspace has identified historical events and historically significant cultural moments from the classical era up to the 20th century that weren’t captured by artists in their time. Now they will become paintings that place history in its artistic context. The works by Wolfgang Beltracchi will be presented in the exhibition “KAIROS. The Right Moment” starting October 2018.

 

“When you are allowed to visit these special places…”

From the idea to the realization and continuation of the project: how did the series ‘Treasure Rooms’ come about? (Film in German)

Mauro Firoese in the archive of Museo di Castelvecchio in Verona. For his series “Treasure Rooms”, the artists photographed the archives of numerous major museums.

...

Academic Advisory Board

For the project “KAIROS. The Right Moment”, ZOTT Artspace is working with art historians and other experts to examine and illustrate the wide variety of eras in 2000 years of Western culture. Our aim is to explain art in an easy and exciting way – without cutting any corners in its scientific foundation. For this purpose, we are gradually putting together an academic advisory board. The following experts have already joined the team and are supporting us in our academic advisory board:

Golden Age, Art Nouveau – and the “Gesamtkunstwerk”

His great reputation both in the academic world and in the art business makes the art historian Rainer Metzger the ideal consultant for our comprehensive project. He is helping with the exhibition design, the related publications and with the examination of selected picture ideas. At the moment, he is working on the paintings created using the artistic voices of Gustav Klimt and Jan Vermeer.

Rainer Metzger

Professor Rainer Metzger has been teaching art history at the State Academy of Fine Arts in Karlsruhe since 2004. Born in Lower Bavaria, he studied art history, modern history and modern German literature in Munich. His passion for public discussions about art and sharing his knowledge of art with others led him early on to pursue numerous journalistic activities, from art-critical texts for the daily newspapers Der Standard, FAZ and SZ, through exhibition catalogues to art blogs in artmagazine and his own publications dealing with subjects such as Vincent van Gogh, Dan Graham, Christian Ludwig Attersee and Gustav Klimt.

Iconoclasm – the Byzantine Image Controversy

PD Dr. Sergei Mariev is one of the world’s leading experts in the 1000-year history of the Byzantine Empire. For our project, he is involved in developing the picture idea for Byzantine art and medieval book illumination. One of the main focuses is the Byzantine image controversy, a topic that even today has fascinating and informative aspects.

Sergei Mariev

PD Dr. Sergei Mariev is one of the world’s leading experts in the 1000-year history of the Byzantine Empire. For our project, he is involved in developing the picture idea for Byzantine art and medieval book illumination. One of the main focuses is the Byzantine image controversy, a topic that even today has fascinating and informative aspects.

Sergei Mariev was born in Saint Petersburg and grew up in the USA. He first studied classical philology in Utah and then Byzantine, Greek and Latin philology of the Middle Ages at the LMU Munich. Since 2008 he has been teaching Byzantine Studies at the Institute for Byzantine Studies, Byzantine Art History and Neogräzistik at the LMU Munich. In 2016 he was a visiting professor at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) in Paris, where he held a series of seminars on the emergence of image theory during the iconoclastic period in Byzantium and gave several lectures on this topic. Among other things, he has carried out research projects at the Universities of Zurich and Basel as well as at Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection (Harvard University) and has organized several international conferences, symposia and round tables.

For his habilitation thesis with the title “Aesthetic Theories in Byzantium” he was awarded the highly-endowed habilitation prize by the “Gesellschaft von Freunden und Förderern der Universität München e. V” (Society of Friends and Sponsors of the University of Munich) in 2014. His research focuses on Byzantine historical writing, Greek palaeography and Byzantine philosophy. He is the founder and publisher of the scholarly series “Byzantinisches Archiv – Series Philosophica” (published by De Gruyter in Berlin and Boston).

Images sources:

1: August Macke, „Mädchen unter Bäumen“, 1914. © bpk | Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
a: Lucas Cranach the Elder „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY
c: Gustav Klimt „Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I” 1907.  © John Baran / Alamy Stock Foto
d: „The oldest known icon of Christ, 6-7th C“ (1) ©www.BibleLandPictures.com/Alamy Stock Foto
e: Detail from Hendrick Avercamp: Winter Landscape with Skaters, ca. 1608 © Peter Horree / Alamy Stock Photo

Ein Streifzug durch 2000 Jahre europäische Kunst

Kunst verstehen

“Treasure rooms della Galleria Borghese” – Roma, 2014, Mauro Fiorese

AUF DEN SPUREN GROSSER MEISTER

Botticelli, Vermeer, Picasso – ihre Gemälde begeistern bis heute und wecken die Neugier auf die Denkweise und Techniken der großen Meister. Wie malte der geniale Revoluzzer Caravaggio? Wie konzipierte Max Beckmann seine schonungslos gezeichneten Figuren und Szenen? Mit dem Projekt “KAIROS. Der richtige Moment” unternimmt ZOTT Artspace eine Zeitreise durch 2000 Jahre europäische Kunstgeschichte.

„Ich bin überzeugt, dass Kunst mehr interessiert und fasziniert, wenn wir verstehen, wie oder unter welchen Umständen sie entstanden ist. Kunst – durchaus spielerisch – in ihren Kontext zu stellen, das ist es im Kern, was ich mit ZOTT Artspace erreichen will.“ (Christian Zott)

Wolfgang Beltracchi arbeitet an den Werken für die Ausstellung „KAIROS. Der richtige Moment“. Detailaufnahmen aus Werken in den Handschriften von Max Beckmann, Heinrich Campendonk und Lucas Cranach dem Älteren.

Epochen lebendig nachvollziehbar

Mit einem „Kunstgriff“ macht ZOTT Artspace die Malweise großer Meister erlebbar. Der zeitgenössische Künstler Wolfgang Beltracchi malt für das Projekt „KAIROS. Der richtige Moment“ Gemälde in der Handschrift längst verstorbener Künstler. Besucher des ZOTT Artspace schauen dem Meister fremder Handschriften dabei buchstäblich über die Schulter – und erhalten die Gelegenheit, den Schaffensprozess von Lichtgestalten der europäischen Malerei unmittelbar nachzuvollziehen. Für die jeweiligen Bildmotive hat ZOTT Artspace gesellschafts- und kulturgeschichtlich relevante Momente aus der Antike bis hin zur Moderne identifiziert, die nie gemalt wurden. Jetzt werden sie zu Gemälden, die Geschichte in ihren künstlerischen Kontext setzen. Die Gemälde von Wolfgang Beltracchi werden ab Oktober 2018 in der Ausstellung “KAIROS. Der richtige Moment” präsentiert.

 

EINE ZEITREISE DURCH DIE KUNSTGESCHICHTE

Was uns Kunst heute gibt, ist ohne die Vergangenheit kaum verständlich. Der Blick auf die Motive und Ziele der Maler, auf die Machtverhältnisse ihrer Zeit und die Entwicklung ihrer technischen Fähigkeiten, hilft uns ein Werk anders zu entdecken. Jede Epoche wird kompakt vorgestellt. Die Malweise eines herausragenden Künstlers wird nachträglich erlebbar.

“Wenn du an diesen besonderen Orten sein darfst…”

Von der Idee zur Verwirklichung und Fortführung des Projekts: Wie kam die Serie „Treasure Rooms“ zustande?

Mauro Fiorese im Archiv des Museo di Castelvecchio in Verona. Für seine Serie „Treasure Rooms“ fotografierte der Künstler die Depots zahlreicher bedeutender Museen.

...

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

Für das Großprojekt „KAIROS. Der richtige Moment“ arbeitet ZOTT Artspace mit Kunsthistorikern und weiteren Experten für die Vielzahl der beleuchteten Epochen aus 2000 Jahren abendländischer Kultur zusammen. Unser Anspruch ist es, Kunst leicht und spannend zu vermitteln – ohne Abstriche in der wissenschaftlichen Fundierung. Die folgenden Experten unterstützen uns mit ihrem Fachwissen im wissenschaftlichen Beirat:

Goldenes Zeitalter, Jugendstil – und das große Ganze

Sein großes Renommee sowohl in der Wissenschaft als auch im Kunstbetrieb macht den Kunsthistoriker Rainer Metzger zum idealen Berater für unser umfassendes Projekt. Er unterstützt uns bei der Entwicklung der Ausstellung, bei den begleitenden Publikationen und bei ausgewählten Bildideen, aktuell zu den Gemälden in den Handschriften von Gustav Klimt und Jan Vermeer.

Rainer Metzger

Professor Rainer Metzger lehrt seit 2004 Kunstgeschichte an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Karlsruhe. Der gebürtige Niederbayer hat in München Kunstgeschichte, Neuere Geschichte und Neuere Deutsche Literatur studiert. Seine Leidenschaft für die öffentliche Auseinandersetzung und Vermittlung von Kunst führte ihn früh zu zahlreichen publizistischen Tätigkeiten: von kunstkritischen Texten u.a. für die Tageszeitungen Der Standard, FAZ und SZ über Ausstellungskataloge bis hin zum Kunst-Blog in artmagazine und eigenen Publikationen wie zum Beispiel über Vincent van Gogh, Dan Graham, Christian Ludwig Attersee oder Gustav Klimt.

Metzger gestaltete als Kurator und wissenschaftlicher Berater bereits zahlreiche Ausstellungen. Darunter “Religion Macht Kunst – Die Nazarener“ in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt (2005) sowie „Mozart“ in der Albertina in Wien (2006).

Von 2004 bis 2007 berief das Bundeskanzleramt der Republik Österreich den Wahlösterreicher in den Beirat für Bildende Kunst. Seit 1997 ist er korrespondierendes Mitglied der Künstlervereinigung „Wiener Secession“. Metzger ist verheiratet mit der Kunstkritikerin Daniela Gregori und lebt in Karlsruhe und Wien.

Ikonoklasmus – der byzantinische Bilderstreit

PD Dr. Sergei Mariev zählt zu den weltweit ausgewiesenen Experten der 1000-jährigen Geschichte des Byzantinischen Reichs. Im Rahmen unseres Projekts entwickelt er die Bildideen zur byzantinischen Kunst und zur mittelalterlichen Buchmalerei mit. Einen Schwerpunkt bildet dabei der byzantinische Bilderstreit, ein Thema, das bis heute faszinierende und lehrreiche Aspekte enthüllt.

Sergei Mariev

Sergei Mariev wurde in Sankt Petersburg geboren und wuchs in den USA auf. Er studierte zuerst Klassische Philologie in Utah und im Anschluss Byzantinistik, Gräzistik und lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters an der LMU München. Seit 2008 lehrt er Byzantinistik am Institut für Byzantinistik, Byzantinische Kunstgeschichte und Neogräzistik der LMU München. 2016 war er Gastprofessor an der École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) in Paris, wo er eine Reihe von Seminaren zur Entstehung der Bildtheorie während der ikonoklastischen Zeit in Byzanz veranstaltete und mehrere Vorträge zu diesem Thema hielt. Unter anderem hat er an den Universitäten von Zürich und Basel sowie an der Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection (Harvard University) Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt und mehrere internationale Tagungen und Symposia organisiert.

Für seine Habilitation mit dem Titel “Ästhetische Theorien in Byzanz” wurde er 2014 mit dem hochdotierten Habilitationspreis der Gesellschaft von Freunden und Förderern der Universität München e. V. ausgezeichnet. Die byzantinische Geschichtsschreibung, griechische Paläographie sowie byzantinische Philosophie bilden seine Forschungsschwerpunkte. Er ist Begründer und Herausgeber der wissenschaftlichen Schriftenreihe „Byzantinisches Archiv – Series Philosophica“ (De Gruyter).

Bildquellen:

1: August Macke, „Mädchen unter Bäumen“, 1914. © bpk | Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
a: Lucas Cranach d. Ä. „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY
c: Gustav Klimt „Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I” 1907.  © John Baran / Alamy Stock Foto
d: „The oldest known icon of Christ, 6-7th C“ © www.BibleLandPictures.com/Alamy Stock Foto
e: Ausschnitt aus William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo