Painting Without Restrictions

A Diversity of Styles

Wolfgang Beltracchi “Eden”, 2017. Signature: Max Beckmann from 1947-48 reflecting on the events of 1918-19

20th Century

A Diversity of Styles – Max Beckmann Paints Political Atrocities

In contrast to all previous eras and movements, the 20th century was not characterized by one common artistic style, but rather by a diversity of styles. Placed side by side, contemporaries such as Max Beckmann, Francis Bacon and Niki de Saint Phalle represent the development from an era-encompassing defined style to artists with a variety of visual languages that are fully independent of one another. Although their styles are so diverse, however, they are all modern masters. The artist from this period with the highest profile today is Max Ernst.

Almost 100 years after the murder of Rosa Luxemburg, Wolfgang Beltracchi addresses the topic using the artistic voice of Max Beckmann from the 1940s. The work “Eden” portrays the torture of the German Communist Party leader as sexualized and – as was typical of Beckmann’s later works – full of symbolism.

Max Beckmann was obsessed with painting. He wanted to use it to capture “the mystery of being”. “I would crawl through all the sewers in the world in order to paint”, he wrote to his wife in 1915. With his own “dreadful, vital sensuousness” he penetrated the visible world and, by artistic means, revealed the truths lying behind it.

more
less

The First World War and the horrors he experienced first-hand as a medical orderly left him disillusioned. What happened to compassion or altruism, where was God? From that point on, catastrophes and failure became an important part of his oeuvre.

The painter rejected abstraction, which many of his contemporaries devoted themselves to. His works are bursting with expressiveness. He painted using a new, radical figurative method: angular, cold and with clear contours. His strict composition lends the paintings something inescapable – fitting to the authoritarian powers of his time. He used black lines as grids for his compositions, and they later appear in the foreground as the outlines typical of Beckman’s work, giving his figures their harshness and intensity. Over the course of time the painter, who is often classified as an expressionist, began to combine an increasing number of painting methods in one work. As result, thin glazes, which make use of the structure of the canvas as a design element, are next to areas thick with paint – some matt, some glossy, depending upon use of turpentine.

Five Facts About Painting in the 20th Century

1. NEW ABUNDANCE OF MATERIALS
A large pallet of colors, modern materials and the discovery that art doesn’t only work on canvas – the 20th century offered artists new ways and possibilities of evolving artistically. Being radically different and embracing unconventionality becomes the signature feature of work by artists such as Jason Pollock, Joseph Beuys and Andy Warhol.

2. REACTION TO THE WARS
The First World War led to artistic scrutinization of violence and the misery that followed. This was reflected in works by Max Beckmann, George Grosz, Otto Dix and Käthe Kollwitz through their use of realism. However, other artists like Paul Klee and Hans Arp distinctly distanced themselves from realistic portrayals. By the end of the Second World War, ever more artists began to pursue a new approach to art.

3. INSPIRED BY THE NEW MEDIA
The first photo was taken in 1826. The first motion picture was projected onto a big screen in 1895. Feeling that painting was nearing its demise, artists began to experiment with the new forms of media. Film and photography, however, turn out to have the surprising effect of inspiring new ideas in painting.

4. VARIABLE
Stylistic flexibility becomes noticeable not only in differences between artists, but also within their own respective oeuvres. Max Beckmann, born in 1884, begins as an impressionist and joins the Berlin Secession for a short time. He then moves on to develop his own figurative style, which he implements time and again in various ways. As a result, some of his works can also be categorized as expressionist and part of the New Objectivity movement.

5. GLOBALLY INSPIRED
In the 20th century, the world becomes more connected, there are more and more influences from all over the globe. A modern artist is familiar with art from Africa, the Americas and Asia. The influences are apparent, for example, in works by Wassiliy Kandinsky and Franz Marc, who are inspired by African masks. The contemporary Matisse, on the other hand, travels among others to Tahiti and experiments with new motifs. Stylistically, the 20th century is on a quest.

Käthe Kollwitz „Eine deutsche Mutter“ Lithografie 1924. (1)

Franz Marc „Drei Katzen“ 1913. (2)

Wassily Kandinsky „Upward (Empor)“ 1929.(3)

A JOURNEY THROUGH THE HISTORY OF ART

Image sources:

1: Käthe Kollwitz „Eine deutsche Mutter“ Lithografie 1924. © bpk
2: Franz Marc „Drei Katzen“ 1913. © bpk / Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf / Walter Klein
3: Wassily Kandinsky „Upward (Empor)“ 1929. © bpk / Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / David Heald
a: Lucas Cranach the Elder „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY
c: Gustav Klimt „Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I” 1907.  © John Baran / Alamy Stock Foto.
d: Detail from „The oldest known icon of Christ, 6-7th C“ © www.BibleLandPictures.com/Alamy Stock Foto
e: Detail from Hendrick Avercamp: Winter Landscape with Skaters, ca. 1608 © Peter Horree / Alamy Stock Photo
f: Detail from William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo
g: Detail from Caspar David Friedrich, Wanderer im Nebelmeer, 1818. © Pictorial Press Ltd / Alamy Stock Photo
h: Detail from Girl Reading a Letter at an Open Window, Jan Vermeer, 1557 © Archivart / Alamy Stock Photo

Malerei ohne Grenzen

Vielfalt der Stile

Wolfgang Beltracchi “Eden”, 2017. Handschrift: Max Beckmann von 1947/48 in der Reflexion auf die Geschehnisse von 1918/19

20. Jahrhundert

Vielfalt der Stile – Max Beckmann malt die politischen Gräuel

Anders als alle früheren Epochen und Strömungen kennzeichnet das 20. Jahrhundert weniger ein gemeinsamer künstlerischer Stil, sondern die Vielfalt. Seite an Seite stehen Zeitgenossen wie Max Beckmann, Francis Bacon oder Niki de Saint Phalle beispielhaft für die Entwicklung von einer epochenübergreifenden Stilprägung hin zu Künstlern mit voneinander unabhängigen Bildsprachen. So unterschiedlich ihr Stil, sind sie doch alle Meister der Moderne. Der heute mit am höchsten gehandelten Künstler dieser Zeit ist Max Beckmann.

Fast 100 Jahre nach der Ermordung von Rosa Luxemburg widmet sich Wolfgang Beltracchi dem Thema in der Handschrift von Max Beckmann aus den 1940er Jahren. Das Werk „Eden“ zeigt die Folterung der KPD-Führerin sexualisiert und – wie für Beckmanns Spätwerk typisch – symbolisch aufgeladen.

Max Beckmann war besessen von der Malerei. Mit ihr wollte er „das Mysterium des Daseins“ erfassen. „Ich würde mich durch sämtliche Kloaken der Welt […] hindurchwinden, um zu malen“, schrieb er 1915 an seine Frau. Mit seiner selbst empfundenen „furchtbaren, vitalen Sinnlichkeit“ durchdrang er das Sichtbare und veränderte es mit künstlerischen Mitteln so, dass die dahinterliegenden Wahrheiten erkennbar würden.

mehr
weniger

Der Erste Weltkrieg, dessen Abgründe er als Sanitätshelfer hautnah erlebt hatte, hinterließ Beckmann desillusioniert. Wo war die Menschlichkeit, die Nächstenliebe, wo war Gott? Katastrophen und das Scheitern spielten fortan eine große Rolle in seinem Oeuvre.

Der Maler verweigerte sich der Abstraktion, der sich viele seiner Zeitgenossen zuwandten. Sein Werk strotzt vor Ausdruckskraft. Er malte auf eine neue, radikale Weise figurativ: kantig, kalt und klar konturiert. Der strenge Bildaufbau verleiht den Gemälden etwas Unausweichliches – passend zu den autoritären Mächten seiner Zeit. Schwarze Linien nutze er zunächst als Gitter für die Bildkonstruktion. Später treten sie als die Beckmann-typischen Umrisslinien in den Vordergrund und verleihen seinen Figuren ihre Härte und Wucht. Im Laufe der Zeit verbindet der oft als Expressionist eingeordnete Maler immer mehr Malweisen in einem Bild. So stehen dünne Lasuren, die die Struktur der Leinwand als Gestaltungselement nutzen, neben dickem Farbauftrag, der mal matt, mal glänzend ausfällt, je nach Zusatz von Terpentin.

Fünf Fakten zur Malerei im 20. Jahrhundert

1. NEUER MATERIALREICHTUM
Eine erweiterte Farbpalette, moderne Stoffe und die Entdeckung, dass Kunst nicht nur auf der klassischen Leinwand funktioniert – das 20. Jahrhundert bietet dem Künstler neue Wege und Möglichkeiten, sich zu entfalten. Das radikal Andere und Außergewöhnliche wird für Revolutionäre wie Jackson Pollock, Joseph Beuys oder Andy Warhol zum Markenzeichen.

2. REAKTION AUF DIE KRIEGE
Der Erste Weltkrieg führt zu einer starken künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit der Gewalt und dem folgenden Elend. Das spiegelt sich u.a. in den Werken von Max Beckmann, Goerge Grosz, Otto Dix und Käthe Kollwitz und ihrem Realismus wieder. Andere Maler wie Paul Klee oder Hans Arp distanzieren sich deutlich von der Realitätsnähe. Spätestens nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg suchen immer mehr Künstler den Neuanfang.

3. MEDIAL BEEINFLUSST
Das erste Foto entstand 1826. Der erste Film lief 1895 über die Leinwand. Mit dem Gefühl, dass die Malerei an ein Ende gekommen ist, beginnen Künstler mit den neuen Medien zu experimentieren. Das überraschende Ergebnis: Fotografie und Film verhelfen gerade in der Malerei zu neuen Ideen.

4. WANDELBAR
Die stilistische Flexibilität macht sich nicht nur zwischen den Künstlern, sondern auch innerhalb ihres jeweiligen Gesamtwerkes bemerkbar. Der 1884 geborene Max Beckmann beginnt als Impressionist und schließt sich für kurze Zeit der Berliner Secession an, entwickelt dann aber einen eigenen, figurativen Stil, den er immer wieder anders einsetzt. So zählen Teile seines Gesamtwerkes auch zum Expressionismus und der Malerei der neuen Sachlichkeit.

5. GLOBAL  INSPIRIERT
Im 20. Jahrhundert wächst die Welt soweit zusammen, dass es mehr und mehr Einflüsse aus allen Himmelsrichtungen gibt. Der moderne Künstler kennt auch die Kunst Afrikas, Amerikas und Asiens. Diese Einflüsse zeigen sich etwa bei Wassiliy Kandinsky und Franz Marc. Sie finden in afrikanischen Masken Inspirationen für ihre eigenen Werke. Ihr Zeitgenosse Matisse dagegen reist u.a. in das ferne Tahiti und experimentiert mit neuen Motiven. Stilistisch ist das 20. Jahrhundert auf der Suche.

Käthe Kollwitz „Eine deutsche Mutter“ Lithografie 1924. (1)

Franz Marc „Drei Katzen“ 1913. (2)

Wassily Kandinsky „Upward (Empor)“ 1929. (3)

Bildquellen:

1: Käthe Kollwitz „Eine deutsche Mutter“ Lithografie 1924. © bpk
2: Franz Marc „Drei Katzen“ 1913. © bpk / Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf / Walter Klein
3: Wassily Kandinsky „Upward (Empor)“ 1929. © bpk / Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / David Heald
a: Lucas Cranach d. Ä. „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY
c: Gustav Klimt „Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I” 1907.  © John Baran / Alamy Stock Foto.
d: Detail aus „The oldest known icon of Christ, 6-7th C“ © www.BibleLandPictures.com/Alamy Stock Foto
e: Ausschnitt aus Hendrick Avercamp: Winterlandschaft mit Schlittschuhläufern, ca. 1608 © Peter Horree / Alamy Stock Photo
f: Ausschnitt aus William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo