Poetry by Brushstroke

English Romanticism

William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament (1)

First Half of 19th Century

English Romanticism – Turner Discovers the Effects of Light

Where do we come from, how was life born on earth? Charles Darwin finds an answer to this question key to mankind during his voyage of nearly five years by ship in the 19th century— an answer that will change the prevailing beliefs about life. He discovers that species are adapting to their environment and are becoming increasingly complex. Darwin’s modern theory of evolution thus contradicts the theory of creation, according to which God created all beings in their present form and man in his image, and marks the beginning of a new worldview. The painter William Turner is living at the same time in England. Like Darwin, he believes it is time to break through to new ways of thinking and turn towards nature. The two men met in London’s elite club “Athenaeum”.

Romanticism has its origins in English literature, which rejects the Rationalism of the Enlightenment and devotes itself to nature and the world of emotions. Landscapes as untouched and remote sceneries hold the attention of poets like Blake and Wordsworth. They also influence the painters who find their new focus in landscape motifs and seascapes, and experiment with color effects. The most famous English Romantic artist is William Turner, the “inventor of the atmospheric landscape”. In his work, color begins to emancipate itself from form. Contours dissolve, surfaces blur and form another dimension. Relief-like colors override form, yet leave room for detailed scenes. Long before the Impressionists, the artist focused on conveying the effect of his motifs under certain lighting conditions. Turner is a pioneer of art, just as his contemporary Darwin is a pioneer of science.

Pastel colors, hazy contours, fine details in between – Wolfgang Beltracchi works on the picture of the HMS Beagle in the Devonport harbor he is painting in the artistic voice of William Turner.

Five Facts – English Romanticism

John Constable and William Turner are the most important representatives of English Romanticism. The predominant motifs are landscapes, which are, however, painted using very diverse techniques.

1. DREAM-LIKE
Every landscape seems perfect. Because Romanticism has no ambitions to be documental. It creates dream worlds, composed of sketches from the painters’ own imaginations.

2. SEA OF LIGHT
In Romanticism, colors are used for the first time as a means of creating a mystical, eerie or melancholic mood. The atmosphere created in this way takes the viewer to a distant world, far away from real life.

3. KNIGHTLY
The expression “romantic“ derives from the French word “roman“, which goes back to the vernacular term for knights novels in the Middle Ages. The new intellectual movement of Romanticism chose this label to distinguish itself from classical antiquity.

4. UPGRADING WATERCOLORS
Watercolor painting already existed in ancient Egypt. In later eras, the artists mostly used watercolors for creating studies, as Dürer and Rembrandt did. William Turner, who regarded watercolors as independent works, first gained broad recognition for this technique.

5. FREEDOM OF STYLE
The artists of English Romanticism approached similar motifs in very different ways. Constable changed from a naturalistic technique to a painting technique that emphasizes the brushstroke. With his ever-progressing dematerialization of motifs, Turner laid the foundation for modern art.

John Constable, Flatford Mill, 1816-17 (2)

William Turner, The lake of Zug, watercolor, 1843 (3)

Samuel Palmer, In Shoreham Garden, 1830, watercolour (4)

A JOURNEY THROUGH THE HISTORY OF ART

Image credits:

1: William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo
2: John Constable, Flatford Mill, 1816-17 © Lebrecht Music and Arts Photo Library / Alamy Stock Foto
3: William Turner, The lake of Zug, watercolor, 1843 © age footstock / Alamy Stock Foto
4: Samuel Palmer, In Shoreham Garden, 1830, watercolour © recht Music and Arts Photo Library / Alamy Stock Foto
a: Lucas Cranach the Elder „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY
c: Gustav Klimt „Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I” 1907. © John Baran / Alamy Stock Foto.
d: Detail from „The oldest known icon of Christ, 6-7th C“ © www.BibleLandPictures.com/Alamy Stock Foto
e: Detail from Hendrick Avercamp: Winter Landscape with Skaters, ca. 1608 © Peter Horree / Alamy Stock Photo
f: Detail from William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo
g: Detail from Caspar David Friedrich, Wanderer im Nebelmeer, 1818. © Pictorial Press Ltd / Alamy Stock Photo
h: Detail from Girl Reading a Letter at an Open Window, Jan Vermeer, 1557 © Archivart / Alamy Stock Photo

Poesie per Pinselstrich

Englische Romantik

William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament (1)

Anfang 19. Jahrhundert

Englische Romantik – Turner entdeckt die Wirkung des Lichts

Woher kommen wir, wie entwickelte sich das Leben auf der Erde? Auf diese zentrale Frage der Menschheit findet Charles Darwin auf seiner fast fünfjährigen Schiffsreise im 19. Jahrhundert eine Antwort, die das herrschende Weltbild umkrempeln wird. Er entdeckt, dass Arten sich ihrer Umwelt anpassen und dabei immer komplexer entwickeln. Damit widerspricht Darwins moderne Evolutionstheorie der Schöpfungsgeschichte, nach der Gott alle Wesen nach ihrer jetzigen Art und den Menschen nach seinem Ebenbild geschaffen hat und markiert den Beginn einer neuern Weltanschauung. Zur gleichen Zeit in England lebt der Maler William Turner. Wie Darwin steht er für den Aufbruch zu neuen Sichtweisen und für die Hinwendung zur Natur. Im Londoner Elite-Club „Athenaeum“ sind sich die beiden Männer begegnet.

Die Romantik findet ihren Ursprung in der englischen Literatur, die sich von der Vernunftorientierung der Aufklärung abwendet und der Natur und Gefühlswelt hingibt. Die Landschaft als unberührte und weltabgewandte Szenerie beschäftigt Dichter wie Blake und Wordsworth. Sie beeinflussen auch die Maler, die in Landschaftsmotiven und Seestücken ihren neuen Schwerpunkt finden und mit Farbwirkungen experimentieren. Der berühmteste Künstler der englischen Romantik ist William Turner, der „Entdecker der Stimmungslandschaft“. Bei ihm beginnt die Farbe, sich gegenüber der Form zu emanzipieren. Konturen lösen sich auf, Flächen verwischen und formen eine weitere Dimension. Reliefartig setzten sich Farben über Form hinweg und lassen doch Raum für detaillierte Szenen. Schon lange vor den Impressionisten hebt der Künstler darauf ab, die Wirkung seiner Motive unter bestimmten Lichtverhältnissen zu vermitteln. Turner ist ein Wegbereiter für die Kunst, so wie sein Zeitgenosse Darwin ein Wegbereiter für die Naturwissenschaften ist.

Pastellige Farben, schemenhafte Konturen, dazwischen feine Details – Wolfgang Beltracchi legt in der Handschrift von William Turner das Bild von der HMS Beagle im Hafen von Devonport an.

Fünf Fakten – Englische Romantik

John Constable und William Turner sind die wichtigsten Vertreter der englischen Romantik. Das vorherrschende Thema ist die Landschaft, technisch wird es jedoch sehr unterschiedlich umgesetzt.

1. TRÄUMERISCH

Jede Landschaft wirkt perfekt. Denn die Romantik kennt keinerlei dokumentarischen Anspruch. Sie schafft Traumwelten, komponiert aus Skizzen und eigenen Vorstellungen.

2. LICHTERMEER

In der Romantik werden erstmals gezielt Farben als Mittel eingesetzt, um eine mystische, unheimliche oder melancholische Stimmung zu erzielen. Die damit erzeugte Atmosphäre entführt den Betrachter in eine ferne Welt, weit weg vom realen Leben.

3. RITTERLICH
Der Begriff „romantisch“ stammt vom französischen Wort „roman“, das auf die volkssprachlichen Ritterromane des Mittelalters zurückgeht. Die neue geistige Strömung der Romantik wählte dieses Label um sich vom Antike-Bezug der Klassik abzugrenzen.

4. AUFWERTUNG DES AQUARELLS
Die Aquarellmalerei gab es schon im alten Ägypten. In späteren Epochen malten die Künstler Aquarelle meist zu Studienzwecken, wie zum Beispiel Dürer oder Rembrandt. Breite Anerkennung erlangt die Technik erst durch William Turner, der Aquarelle als eigenständige Werke ansah.

5. FREIHEIT DER TECHNIK

Die Künstler der englischen Romantik widmen sich ähnlichen Motiven auf ganz unterschiedliche Art und Weise. Constable wechselt von einer naturalistischen Technik zu einer Malweise, die besonders den Pinselduktus in den Vordergrund stellt. Turner legt mit seiner immer fortschreitenden Entmaterialisierung des Motivs den Grundstein für die Moderne.

John Constable, Flatford Mill, 1816-17 (2)

William Turner, The lake of Zug, watercolor, 1843 (3)

Samuel Palmer, In Shoreham Garden, 1830, watercolour (4)

EINE ZEITREISE DURCH DIE KUNSTGESCHICHTE

Bildquellen:

1: William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo
2: John Constable, Flatford Mill, 1816-17 © Lebrecht Music and Arts Photo Library / Alamy Stock Foto
3: William Turner, The lake of Zug, watercolor, 1843 © age footstock / Alamy Stock Foto
4: Samuel Palmer, In Shoreham Garden, 1830, watercolour © recht Music and Arts Photo Library / Alamy Stock Foto
a: Lucas Cranach d. Ä. „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY
c: Gustav Klimt „Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I” 1907. © John Baran / Alamy Stock Foto.
d: Detail aus „The oldest known icon of Christ, 6-7th C“ © www.BibleLandPictures.com/Alamy Stock Foto
e: Ausschnitt aus Hendrick Avercamp: Winterlandschaft mit Schlittschuhläufern, ca. 1608 © Peter Horree / Alamy Stock Photo
f: Ausschnitt aus William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo
g: Ausschnitt aus Caspar David Friedrich, Wanderer im Nebelmeer, 1818. © Pictorial Press Ltd / Alamy Stock Photo
h: Ausschnitt aus Jan Vermeer „Brieflesendes Mädchen am offenen Fenster“, 1557 © Archivart / Alamy Stock Photo