Dancing Pictures

Ballets Russes

Wolfgang Beltracchi’s work “Scheherazade” (2017) was inspired by the ballet of the same name, which, with its new vitality, was a sensation at its world premiere in Paris in 1910. (photo Beltracchi)

Early 20th Century

The Ballets Russes – All Artists to the Stage

Russian director Sergei Djagilev founded the ballet ensemble in 1909 in Paris, the center of dance art, which proved to be the most important ballet ensemble of the 20th century. To this day, the Ballets Russes are regarded as the avant-garde of dance and had considerable influence upon their contemporaries. Musicians, dancers, members of the theater and artists intensively exchanged their ideas and skills. Painters not only created stage sets and costumes for the ballet, but also drew inspiration from the Ballets Russes for their own works. No matter which style they belonged to – whether primitivism, surrealism, futurism, cubism or fauvism – they were equally fascinated by the Ballets Russes.

The “young people” in the ballet “The Rite of Spring” stamped and jumped to the rhythmic music by Igor Stravinsky. For the Parisian audience, the Cubist dancing style was not only disconcerting, but also a catastrophe. But even the devastating critics could not stop the avant-garde Ballets Russes movement. (1)

Five Facts – The Ballets Russes

The Russian ballet ensemble Ballets Russes integrates very diverse arts as an overarching, almost social phenomenon. Founder Sergei Djagilev commissions renowned international artists such as Mikhail Larinov, Nataliya Goncharova, Henri Matisse, Léon Bakst, Igor Stavinsky, Pablo Picasso and Wassily Kandinsky for his productions. The result is a genre-spanning art scene whose protagonists inspire each other.

1. REVOLUTION FROM RUSSIA
Starting from Russia, ballet had freed itself from the corset of the opera at the beginning of the 19th century and gained worldwide fame and recognition as classical, romantic ballets. Now, at the beginning of the 20th century, the Russian Sergei Djagilev is pressing ahead with epochal changes. The expressive dance breaks with the traditions of classical ballet and forms an avant-garde with the Balletts Russes, which we could already observe in painting shortly before.

2. ALL ROADS LED TO PARIS
The cultural and art scene gathers in Paris at the beginning of the 20th century. Free spirits such as Picasso, Gertrud Stein, Hemingway or Stravinsky live almost next door to each other in France. In addition to literature, the mutual inspiration takes place above all in painting, and the public clash of their different styles is reflected in the changing costumes and scenery of the Balletts Russes.

3. SENSUAL ECSTASY
The staging of Claude Debussy’s “The Afternoon of a Faun” is a shock for Paris audiences in 1912. Nijinsky wrote the choreography himself and takes on the role of the faun. Unabashed and in love with himself, he makes clear sexual allusions and triggered a debate about the aesthetic value of dancing.

4. A WHIFF OF CHANEL
It is not only painters who create costumes for the Ballets Russes, but also other artists, including fashion designer Coco Chanel. Compared to her contemporaries, the style icon stood out for her elegant but rather restrained designs. The most beautiful and important costumes for the Ballets Russes were created by Leon Bakst.

5. MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING?
The Balletts Russes also revolutionize music. The composer Igor Stravinsky shocked the audience of “Le Sacre du Printemps” with dissonances, changes of beat and strong rhythms, which accompany the backward and seemingly clumsy movements of the dancers. The audience reacts with angry interjections, whistles and provocative laughter. The Parisian audience, accustomed to fine tones, is so agitated that fights break out between supporters and opponents; 27 people were injured.

In 1909 Diaghilev hired dancer Nijinsky for his ballet ensemble and called it Ballets Russes for the first time. The opening in Paris with various popular dances was very successful. (2)

A stage for the fine arts: Russian impressario Sergei Diaghilev hired the best musicians, Russian dancers and painters for his plays. (photo Beltracchi)

There can be no avant-garde without scandal: the performance of “The Rite of Spring” ended with booing and had to be interrupted several times. (photo Beltracchi)

A Journey Through the History of Art

Image sources:

1: Music-Images /Alamy Stock Foto
2: Photo 12 / Alamy Stock Foto
a: Lucas Cranach the Elder „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY

Getanzte Bilder

Ballets Russes

Wolfgang Beltracchis Werk „Scheherazade“ (2017) zitiert das gleichnamige Ballett, das bei der Uraufführung 1910 in Paris mit seiner neuen Lebendigkeit einer Sensation gleichkam. (Foto Beltracchi)

1909 – 1929

Ballets Russes – alle Künstler auf die Bühne

Der russische Intendant Sergei Djagilew gründete 1909 in Paris, dem Zentrum der Tanzkunst, das Ballettensemble, das sich als das bedeutendste des 20. Jahrhunderts erweisen sollte. Die Ballets Russes gelten bis heute als die Avantgarde des Tanzes und beeinflussten maßgeblich ihre Zeitgenossen. Vertreter der Bereiche Musik, Tanz, Theater und bildender Kunst tauschten ihre Ideen und Fähigkeiten intensiv aus. Maler schufen nicht nur Bühnenbilder und Kostüme für das Ballett, sondern ließen sich auch in ihren eigenen Gemälden von den Ballets Russes inspirieren. Dabei war es ganz gleich, welcher Stilrichtung sie angehörten – ob Primitivismus, Surrealismus, Futurismus, Kubismus, Fauvismus – die Ballets Russes faszinierten sie gleichermaßen.

„Die Jugendlichen“ in dem Ballett „Frühlingsweihe“ zuckten, stampften und hüpften zu der rhythmischen Musik von Igor Strawinsky. Der kubistische Tanzstil war für das Pariser Publikum nicht nur befremdlich, sondern eine Katastrophe. Doch selbst die vernichtenden Kritiken konnten die Avantgardebewegung Ballets Russes nicht mehr aufhalten. (1)

Fünf Fakten – Die Balletts Russes

Das russische Ballettensemble Ballets Russes bindet als übergreifendendes, fast gesellschaftliches Phänomen, die verschiedensten Künste ein. So verpflichtet Gründer Sergei Djagilew namhafte internationale Künstler wie Michail Larinow, Natalija Gontscharowa, Henri Matisse, Léon Bakst, Igor Stavinsky, Pablo Picasso oder Wassily Kandinsky für seine Inszenierungen. Es entsteht eine genreübergreifende Kunstszene, deren Protagonisten sich gegenseitig inspirieren.

1. REVOLUTION AUS RUSSLAND
Ausgehend von Russland hatte sich das Ballett Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem Korsett der Oper befreit und als klassisches, romantisches Ballett weltweit Ruhm und Anerkennung erlangt. Nun, zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts, treibt mit Sergei Djagilev wieder ein Russe den epochalen Wandel voran. Der Ausdruckstanz bricht mit den Traditionen des klassischen Balletts und bildet mit den Balletts Russes eine Avantgarde, die wir kurz vorher schon in der Malerei beobachten konnten.

2. ALLE WEGE FÜHREN NACH PARIS
Die Kultur- und Kunstszene trifft sich Anfang des 20. Jahrhundert in Paris. Freigeister wie Picasso, Gertrud Stein, Hemingway oder Strawinsky leben in Frankreich fast Tür an Tür. Neben der Literatur findet die gegenseitige Inspiration vor allem in der Malerei statt und das öffentliche Aufeinandertreffen ihrer unterschiedlichen Stile spiegelt sich in den wechselnden Ausstattungen von Kostüm und Bühnenbild der Balletts Russes wieder.

3. SINNLICHE EKSTASE
Die Inszenierung „Nachmittag eines Fauns“ von Claude Debussy ist für das Pariser Publikum 1912 ein Schock: Nijinsky hat die Choreografie selbst geschrieben und übernimmt die Rolle des Fauns. Unverblümt und selbstverliebt macht er darin überdeutliche sexuelle Anspielungen und löste eine Debatte um den ästhetischen Wert der Tanzkunst aus.

4. EIN HAUCH VON CHANEL
Nicht nur Maler, sondern auch andere Künstler, darunter die Modedesignerin Coco Chanel, kreieren Kostüme für die Ballets Russes. Neben ihren Zeitgenossen fiel die Stilikone wegen ihrer eleganten, aber doch eher zurückhaltenden Entwürfe auf. Die schönsten und wichtigsten Kostüme für das Ballets Russes wurden von Leon Bakst entworfen.

5. VIEL LÄRM UM NICHTS?
Die Balletts Russes revolutionieren auch die Musik. Der Komponist Igor Strawinsky schockiert das Publikum mit „Le Sacre du Printemps“ erstmals mit Dissonanzen, Taktwechseln und starken Rhythmen, die die rückartigen und scheinbar ungelenken Bewegungen der Tänzer begleiten. Das Publikum quittiert es mit wütenden Zwischenrufen, Pfiffen und provokativem Gelächter. Nach Schlägereien zwischen Befürwortern und Gegnern zählt der Abend 27 Verletzte – so bewegte der Vorstoß das an feine Töne gewöhnte Pariser Publikum.

1909 holte Impresario Djagilew den Tänzer Nijinsky in sein Ballettensemble und nannte es erstmals Ballets Russes. Die Eröffnung in Paris mit verschiedenen populären Tänzen war ein voller Erfolg. (2)

Eine Bühne für die schönen Künste: Der russische Impressario Sergei Diaghilev engagierte für seine Stücke die Elite aus Musik, russischem Tanz und Malerei. (Foto Beltracchi)

Keine Avantgarde ohne Skandal: Das Stück „Le Sacre du Printemps“ endete in Buhrufen und musste zeitweise unterbrochen werden. (Foto Beltracchi)

Bildquellen:

1: Igor STRAVINSKY ballet – Rite of Spring / Sacre du Printemps © Music-Images /Alamy Stock Foto
2: VASLAV NIJINKSY (1890-1950). © Granger Historical Picture Archive / Alamy Stock Photo
a: Lucas Cranach the Elder „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY
c: Gustav Klimt „Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I” 1907.  © John Baran / Alamy Stock Foto.
d: Detail aus „The oldest known icon of Christ, 6-7th C“ © www.BibleLandPictures.com/Alamy Stock Foto
e: Ausschnitt aus Hendrick Avercamp: Winterlandschaft mit Schlittschuhläufern, ca. 1608 © Peter Horree / Alamy Stock Photo
f: Ausschnitt aus William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo