“In his conglomerates of animals, flowers, ornamental objects, human and mythical figures, Konstantin Sotnikov achieves a maximal density of subjects, which at times almost appears in danger of imploding.”

Quote: Belinda Grace Gardner, HfbK Hamburg

Konstantin Sotnikov: Paintings and Sculptures

Exhibition catalogue, ZOTT Artspace
Softcover, 21 x 21 cm, 60 pages
English
ISBN 978-3-9816447-7-7
First edition 2014
€ 9,80 incl. VAT


Order by email
Free shipping within Germany (uninsured as book shipment) or as registered mail within Germany for an additional charge of 5,10€ (please specify when ordering)
English ISBN 978-3-9816447-7-7
Buy on amazon.co.uk
Vorschau-PDF

Konstantin Sotnikov: Paintings and Sculptures

“To a certain degree, Sotnikov’s deeply mysterious works, which are charged by a multitude of clues and references, are never fully accessible. The spectrum of media used by the artist ranges from multilayered narrative scenarios on canvas to three-dimensional assemblages consisting of objects found at flea and antique markets. In the past years, Sotnikov has extended the span of his work, creating sculptures of wood and plaster as well as carved reliefs. Thematically, since 2012, he has become increasingly concerned with still lives, portraits, and theatrical paintings, in which the genres are conjoined, and still life representations and densely populated spectacles are interconnected in epoch-spanning conjunctions.

The grotesque, late medieval visions of hell by Hieronymus Bosch (from c. 1450—1516) are a constant in Sotnikov’s work. […] The different times, contexts, and registers located between ‘high’ and ‘low’, yesterday and today, are conflated into a surreal, phantasmagorical simultaneity of events, which in Boschian potentiation assails the viewer’s eye with the visual impact of an animated multi-media curio cabinet. […] The figures which in Sotnikov’s world-encompassing theater of passions are constantly on the road with unknown destinations in riotous carnival parades and wild processions seem to have nothing left to lose, but much to gain.”

Belinda Grace Gardner

The catalogue was published for the exhibition “Konstantin Sotnikov: Paintings and Sculptures” at ZOTT Artspace Singapore.

„In seinen Konglomeraten von Tieren, Blumen, ornamentalen Objekten, menschlichen und mythologischen Figuren erreicht Konstantin Sotnikov eine Dichte der Subjekte, die zeitweise beinahe zu implodieren droht.”

Zitat: Belinda Grace Gardner, HfbK Hamburg

Konstantin Sotnikov: Paintings and Sculptures

Ausstellungskatalog, ZOTT Artspace
Softcover, 21 x 21 cm, 60 Seiten
Englisch
ISBN 978-3-9816447-7-7
Erstausgabe 2014
€ 9,80 inkl. MwSt.


Per E-Mail bestellen
*Versandkostenfrei innerhalb Deutschlands (unversichert als Büchersendung) oder als Einwurf-Einschreiben innerhalb Deutschlands zzgl. 5,10€ (bitte bei der Bestellung angeben)
englisch: ISBN 978-3981644760
Kaufen bei amazon.de
Vorschau-PDF

Konstantin Sotnikov: Paintings and Sculptures

„In einem gewissen Maße sind Sotnikovs tief mysteriöse Werke, die mit einer Vielzahl an Hinweisen und Referenzen versehen sind, nie ganz zugänglich. Das Spektrum der vom Künstler genutzten Medien reicht von vielschichtigen Erzählszenarios auf der Leinwand bis zu dreidimensionalen Anordnungen von Objekten, die von Floh- und Antiquitätenmärkten stammen. In den vergangenen Jahren erweiterte Sotnikov die Reichweite seines Werks, indem er Holz- und Gipsskulpturen wie auch geschnitzte Reliefs schuf. Thematisch befasste er sich seit 2012 verstärkt mit Stillleben, Portraits und theatralischen Gemälden, in welchen die Genres vereint sind, aber auch mit der Verbindung von Stillleben und dicht bevölkerten Spektakeln in epochenübergreifenden Arrangements.

Die grotesken, spätmittelalterlichen Höllenvisionen es Hieronymus Bosch (ca. 1450 – 1516) sind eine Konstante in Sotnikovs Arbeit. […] Die verschiedenen Zeiten, Kontexte und Verzeichnisse sind zwischen „hoch“ und „tief“, gestern und heute, in einer surrealen, phantasmagorischen Simultaneität der Ereignisse verschmolzen, welche in der Potenzierung nach Bosch das Auge des Betrachters mit der erkennbaren Wirkung eines animierten Multimedia-Kuriositätenkabinetts angreifen. […] Die Figuren, die in Sotnikovs weltumspannendem Theater der Leidenschaften ständig in aufrührerischen Karnevalsumzügen und wilden Prozessionen mit unbekannten Zielorten unterwegs sind, scheinen nichts zu verlieren, aber viel zu gewinnen zu haben.“

Belinda Grace Gardner

Der Katalog erscheint anlässlich der Ausstellung „Konstantin Sotnikov: Paintings and Sculptures“ im ZOTT Artspace Singapur.