„I have been painting for over fifty years and this project has still provided me with a great many new insights to add to my knowledge base.“

(Wolfgang Beltracchi)

KAIROS Cover deutsch

KAIROS. The Right Moment

Exhibition Catalogue

Publisher: Christian Zott
Texts: Cornelia Kroiß and Andreas Pawlitschko in cooperation with Helene and Wolfgang Beltracchi

Hardcover Box with over 40 folders, ca. 226 pages, 129 photographs, 23,5 x 17 x 6 cm

English

ISBN 978-3-945236-02-4
First edition 2018
€ 45,– VAT

* Shipping within Germany as registered mail for €7 or uninsured for €4,50, for worldwide shipping please send us an e-mail for pricing.


KAIROS. The Right Moment

KAIROS. The Right Moment – The Exhibition and the Catalogue

What is visible to us in the history of European art – and what is invisible? Which treasures from past centuries lie hidden in museum depots and await discovery? What masterpieces did the great artists of the past not paint, even though they could have been highlights of their oeuvres? The KAIROS exhibition explores these questions and brings that which has not been seen from 2,000 years of European art history to light. With works by Mauro Fiorese and Wolfgang Beltracchi, the exhibition is a compact and in-depth tour through the most important eras in history and through museums that guard history’s treasures. By questioning what could have happened we can experience what really happened in art history.

 

 

How would Lucas Cranach have portrayed Luther’s turning point in his life towards his ecclesiastical career, and why didn’t he paint this motif? Why would Turner have wanted to paint Charles Darwin’s ship and what opportunity did he miss to do so? How would Monet have dealt with the new medium of photography? And what were the social circumstances that painters like Grosz, Boccioni or Botticelli could have addressed in a key work? The exhibition and catalogue approach art history in a comprehensive, playful and substantiated manner.

The catalogue presents European museums and their collections through Fiorese’s photographs. It shows Beltracchi’s paintings against the background of their stories and the eras they represent, and documents the creation of the works in additional illustrations. The high-quality box contains over 40 folded cards that paint a comprehensive picture of the exhibition and the artists. The catalogue is available in German and English. The German-language special edition – limited to 100 copies – contains a signed and numbered 6-colour screen print by Wolfgang Beltracchi.

 

 

About the initiator and editor Christian Zott, born in 1960, founded international consulting firm mSE Solutions in 1987, which he still presides over today. For many years, art has been an important part of his life. Zott collects contemporary works, reflects on the philosophical implications of art, and is in regular contact with galleries and artists. In 2010, he met Mauro Fiorese, marking the beginning of a personal friendship and fruitful collaboration that was enriched in 2015 by an encounter with Wolfgang Beltracchi. Together, they took on the challenge of the Kairos project. Back in 2014, Christian Zott had founded ZOTT Artspace, an international platform for contemporary art. Initially based in Singapore and the Dolomites, ZOTT Artspace is now located in Munich. A museum is currently under construction in Ammertal, on the southern German edge of the Alps.

About the painter Wolfgang Beltracchi, born in 1951 as the son of a church painter, had a profound knowledge of painting techniques and art history from an early age. He left the Werk-Kunstschule (now Hochschule für Design) in Aachen without a degree in 1972, travelled through Europe and North Africa and sold his first paintings. His masterful craftsmanship and deep artistic understanding amazed and deceived the art world. His name is associated with one of the great forgery scandals of the more recent past. Since then Wolfgang Beltracchi has been known and recognised as an independent, contemporary artist. His ability to freely utilise the artistic voices of the great masters as well as his extensive knowledge of the biographies and sensibilities of the style-defining artists of past centuries permit a new, surprising view of European art history in “KAIROS. The Right Moment”.

About the photographer Mauro Fiorese (1970–2016) was one of the most respected photographers of our time internationally, as well as a lecturer and curator. His works were exhibited at the 54th Biennale in Venice and are in private and public collections, such as at the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston and the National Library of France in Paris, among others. In 1998, Fiorese started working as a lecturer at the University of Verona and the Institute for European Design in Milan. At the beginning of 2016, he was honoured as one of the world’s most important artists by the World Economic Forum in Davos.

Prior to his untimely death in 2016, he worked with the Boxart Gallery in Verona on the acclaimed series “Treasure Rooms”, which won the 2015 Grand Prize at the Milan Photo Fair.

„Ich male seit über fünfzig Jahren und trotzdem habe ich durch dieses Projekt meinem Wissen viele neue Erkenntnisse hinzufügen können.“

(Wolfgang Beltracchi)

KAIROS Cover deutsch

KAIROS. Der richtige Moment
Der Katalog zur Ausstellung

normale Ausgabe:
Herausgeber: Christian Zott
Texte: Cornelia Kroiß und Andreas Pawlitschko in Zusammenarbeit mit Helene und Wolfgang Beltracchi

Hardcover-Box mit über 40 Faltkarten, ca. 226 Seiten, 129 Abbildungen, 23,5 x 17 x 6 cm

Deutsch
ISBN 978-3-945236-01-7
Erstausgabe 2018
€ 45,– inkl. MwSt.
* zzgl. versicherter Versand € 7,– oder unversichert (Päckchen) € 4,50 innerhalb Deutschlands

 

Vorzugsausgabe:
Herausgeber: Christian Zott
Texte: Cornelia Kroiß und Andreas Pawlitschko in Zusammenarbeit mit Helene und Wolfgang Beltracchi

Hardcover-Box mit über 40 Faltkarten, ca. 226 Seiten, 129 Abbildungen, ca. 28 x 21 x 6 cm
Die Vorzugsausgabe ist limitiert auf 100 Stück. Jede Ausgabe enthält ein signiertes und nummeriertes Siebdruckwerk, goldfarben handkoloriert von Wolfgang Beltracchi.

Deutsch
Keine ISBN
Erstausgabe 2018
€ 370,– inkl. MwSt.
* zzgl. versicherter Versand € 7,–


KAIROS. Der richtige Moment – Die Ausstellung und der Katalog

Was sehen wir in der Geschichte der europäischen Kunst – und was sehen wir nicht? Welche Schätze vergangener Jahrhunderte liegen im Verborgenen der Musemsdepots und harren der Entdeckung? Welche Meisterwerke haben die großen Künstler der Vergangenheit nicht gemalt, obwohl sie ein Höhepunkt ihres Schaffens hätten sein können? – Die Kairos-Ausstellung geht diesen Fragen nach und macht das Ungesehene aus 2.000 Jahren europäischer Kunstgeschichte sichtbar. Mit den Werken von Mauro Fiorese und Wolfgang Beltracchi ermöglicht sie einen Gang durch die wichtigsten Epochen der Geschichte und durch die Museen, die ihre Schätze hüten. Was war, wird durch Fragen erlebbar, was hätte sein können.

 

 

Wie hätte Lucas Cranach Luthers Lebenswende hin zur kirchlichen Laufbahn dargestellt und warum tat er es nicht? Warum hätte Turner das Schiff von Charles Darwin malen wollen und welche Gelegenheit hat er dazu versäumt? Wie hätte sich Monet mit dem neuen Medium der Fotografie auseinandergesetzt? Und was waren die gesellschaftlichen Umstände, die Maler wie Grosz, Boccioni oder Botticelli in einem Schlüsselwerk hätten ansprechen können? Anschaulich, spielerisch und fundiert nähern sich Ausstellung und Katalog der Kunstgeschichte.

Der Katalog stellt mit Fioreses Fotografien die europäischen Museen und ihre Sammlungen vor. Er zeigt die Gemälde Beltracchis vor dem Hintergrund ihrer Geschichten und der Epochen, die sie repräsentieren, und dokumentiert die Entstehung der Werke in zusätzlichen Abbildungen. Die hochwertige Sammelbox enthält über 40 Faltkarten und vermittelt ein umfassendes Bild der Ausstellung und ihrer Künstler. Der Katalog ist in deutscher und englischer Sprache erhältlich. Die deutschsprachige Vorzugsausgabe – limitiert auf 100 Exemplare – enthält einen signierten und nummerierten 6-Farb-Siebdruck von Wolfgang Beltracchi.

 

 

Über den Projektinitiator und Herausgeber Christian Zott
Christian Zott (geb. 1960) gründete 1987 die weltweit tätige Unternehmensberatung mSE Solutions, der er bis heute vorsteht. Seit vielen Jahren ist die Kunst ein wichtiger Inhalt seines Lebens. Zott sammelt zeitgenössische Werke, setzt sich philosophisch mit Kunst auseinander, steht im Austausch mit Galerien, Künstlern und Künstlerinnen. 2010 lernte er Mauro Fiorese kennen – der Beginn einer persönlichen Freundschaft und fruchtbaren Zusammenarbeit, die 2015 durch die Begegnung mit Wolfgang Beltracchi noch bereichert wurde. Gemeinsam nahmen sie das Kairos-Projekt in Angriff.

Über den Maler Wolfgang Beltracchi
Wolfgang Beltracchi (geb. 1951) eignete sich bereits in jungen Jahren als Sohn eines Kirchenmalers ein profundes Wissen über Maltechniken und Kunstgeschichte an. Seine handwerkliche Meisterschaft und sein tiefes künstlerisches Verständnis verblüffte und täuschte die Kunstwelt. Sein Name ist mit einem der großen Fälscherskandale der jüngeren Vergangenheit verbunden. Seitdem ist Wolfgang Beltracchi jedoch als eigenständiger, zeitgenössischer Künstler bekannt und anerkannt. Seine Fähigkeit, über die Handschriften der großen Meister frei zu verfügen, sowie seine umfassende Kenntnis der Biografien und Sensibilitäten der stilprägenden Künstler vergangener Jahrhunderte erlauben in „KAIROS. Der richtige Moment“ einen neuen, überraschenden Blick auf die europäische Kunstgeschichte.

Über den Fotograf Mauro Fiorese
Mauro Fiorese (1970–2016) war einer der international meistbeachteten Fotografen unserer Zeit, überdies Dozent und Kurator. Seine Arbeiten wurden auf der 54. Biennale in Venedig gezeigt und werden heute unter anderem im Museum of Fine Arts in Houston und in der Bibliothèque Nationale de France in Paris ausgestellt. 1998 begann Fiorese seine Tätigkeit als Dozent an der Universität Verona und am Institute for European Design in Mailand. Anfang 2016 wurde er im Rahmen des World Economic Forum in Davos als einer der gesellschaftlich bedeutendsten Künstler weltweit ausgezeichnet. Seine vielbeachtete Serie „Treasure Rooms“ gewann 2015 den Hauptpreis der Mailänder Fotomesse.