“It is simply beautiful here, very real – the mountains not too high, the valleys not too deep and the winters not too harsh.”

Quote from Ursula Burkhart

My Home? Ammer Valley! Points of View
A special kind of book about “Heimat”

Publisher: Christian Zott
Photographs: Joachim Ellerbrock
Texts: various authors

Hardcover, 23 x 21 cm, 252 pages
93 color and 21 black and white photographs, 1 map
German
ISBN 978-3-945236-00-0
First edition 2018
€ 30,- incl. VAT


Order by email
Free shipping within Germany (uninsured as book shipment) or as registered mail within Germany for an additional charge of 5,10€ (please specify when ordering)
Look inside

My Home? Ammer Valley!

A valley in Bavaria, lakes, meadows, mountains – and home. From the outside, the perfect cliché. But what is underneath the surface? What does “home” mean to people? And how does it shape their lives?

The book “Heimat? Ammertal! Ansichtssache” answers these questions. 19 Ammer Valley natives asked themselves questions about their “Heimatgefühl”, their sense of home and identity. At which point are you considered a local? Can you imagine moving away from here? Close-knit or hedged in – what is your experience in the village community? And how do you feel about traditions?

The book includes answers to these and other questions, portrays the people and their valley with more than 100 high quality photos. It shows their favorite places and tells stories, reflects on the concept of home.

Publisher is Christian Zott. He commissioned the Hamburg photographer Joachim Ellerbrock to explore his native Ammer Valley to find out what makes is so fascinating. Photographs by Joachim Ellerbrock, texts by various authors. (Book in German.)

About the Publisher
Christian Zott was born and raised in the Ammer Valley. As a cosmopolitan, he has long been at home in many parts of the world, but his roots still lie in Unterammergau. After completing his first course of study he founded mSE Solutions at the age of 28, which today supports customers worldwide in optimizing their production and supply chains. At the age of 50, he decided to call a time-out. He sets up his company operationally so it can run without him and undertakes a journey – across Europe physically as well as mentally through his own life. Seven months walking through many sites filled with European history give the entrepreneur further ideas. He writes a book, starts studying philosophy, founds the art platform ZOTT Artspace, through which he realizes international art projects, and decides to open an art hall. Where? At home in Unterammergau.

About the Photographer
Hans-Joachim Ellerbrock sees himself as a street photographer, who is always on the lookout for that one special moment in cities and nature, but who also happens upon pictures. The Hamburg native is interested in everyday life. Arranging nothing, letting everything be as it is and yet painstakingly composing things until a very individual perspective of the momentary reality emerges. And he catches them, those random moments that life alone stages. For many years Ellerbrock photographed for the magazines Stern and GEO and was co-founder of the photo agency Bilderberg, which was stylistically formative for photojournalism.

“Es ist einfach schön hier, ganz real – die Berge nicht zu hoch, die Täler nicht zu tief und nicht zu rau die Winter.”

Zitat von Ursula Burkhart

Heimat? Ammertal! Ansichtssache
Ein Heimat-Buch der besonderen Art

Herausgeber: Christian Zott
Fotografie: Joachim Ellerbrock, Texte: verschiedene Autoren

Hardcover, 23 x 21 cm, 252 Seiten
93 Farb- und 21 SW-Abbildungen, 1 Karte
Deutsch
ISBN 978-3-945236-00-0
1. Auflage 2018
€ 30,- inkl. MwSt.


Per E-Mail bestellen*
*Versandkostenfrei innerhalb Deutschlands (unversichert als Büchersendung) oder als Einwurf-Einschreiben innerhalb Deutschlands zzgl. 5,10€ (bitte bei der Bestellung angeben)
Blick ins Buch

Heimat? Ammertal!

Ein Tal in Bayern, Seen, Wiesen, Berge – und die Heimat. Von außen betrachtet das perfekte Klischee. Aber was steckt hinter der Oberfläche? Was bedeutet die Heimat den Menschen? Und wie prägt sie ihr Leben?

Das Buch „Heimat? Ammertal! – Ansichtssache“ gibt Antworten. 19 Ammertaler haben sich Fragen zu ihrem Heimatgefühl gestellt: Wann gehörst Du zu den Einheimischen? Kannst Du dir vorstellen hier wegzugehen? Nähe oder Enge – wie empfindest du die Gemeinschaft im Dorf? Oder wie hältst du es mit der Tradition?

Das Buch zitiert Antworten auf diese und weitere Fragen, porträtiert die Menschen und ihr Tal mit mehr als 100 hochklassigen Fotos. Es zeigt ihre Lieblingsorte und erzählt Geschichten, reflektiert über den Heimatbegriff.

Herausgeber ist Christian Zott. Er hatte den Hamburger Fotografen Joachim Ellerbrock mit der Suche nach dem Faszinosum seiner Heimat Ammertal beauftragt. Fotografie Joachim Ellerbrock, Texte: verschiedene Autoren.

Über den Herausgeber
Christian Zott ist im Ammertal geboren und aufgewachsen. Längst ist er als Kosmopolit in vielen Teilen der Welt zuhause, doch seine Wurzeln liegen bis heute in Unterammergau. Nach seinem ersten Studium gründete er mit 28 Jahren das Unternehmen mSE Solutions, das heute Kunden weltweit bei der Optimierung ihrer Produktions- und Lieferketten unterstützt. Mit 50 Jahren dann ein Einschnitt. Christian Zott stellt seine Firma operativ auf eigene Beine und unternimmt eine Reise – quer durch Europa und gedanklich quer durch sein Leben.Sieben Monate Fußmarsch entlang vieler Stätten europäischer Kulturgeschichte bringen den Unternehmer auf weitere Ideen. Er schreibt ein Buch, beginnt mit dem Studium der Philosophie, gründet die Kunstplattform ZOTT Artspace, mit der er internationale Kunstprojekte umsetzt, und entschließt sich, eine Kunsthalle zu eröffnen. Wo? Zu Hause in Unterammergau.

Über den Fotografen
Hans-Joachim Ellerbrock sieht sich selbst als Straßenfotograf, der in Städten oder in der Natur nach dem einen besonderen Moment sucht, dem aber Bilder auch einfach begegnen. Den Hamburger interessiert das Alltägliche. Nichts arrangieren, alles so sein lassen und doch akribisch komponieren, bis eine eigene Sicht auf die sich darbietende Realität entsteht. Und die hält er fest, in den zufälligen Augenblicken, die alleine das Leben inszeniert. Viele Jahre fotografierte Ellerbrock für die Magazine Stern und GEO und war Mitbegründer der für die Fotoreportage stilprägenden Agentur Bilderberg.