Exhibition

Pollux Capella

Pollux Capella

Today, the world of art tends to resemble a vast galaxy all of its own. Authoritative schools faded away long ago, leaving different styles to coexist and receive equal recognition. In addition, merging cultural characteristics in our globalised art world have created a new, unique range of diverse works.

While fixed stars, the overpowering big names that flood the art scene, prevail, new stars are born and light up the art world’s sky every day. However, some continue to shine, only for others to burn out just as quickly as they appeared. “Pollux Capella”, the first exhibition to be presented by ZOTT’S ARTSPACE Dolomites, aims to depict this diversity and pays particular attention to the permanence of the works displayed in terms of their autonomy and artistic power of expression. Pollux and Capella, the two stars lighting up the night sky in the winter hexagon from January to March when the exhibition is running, are named after characters in Greek mythology, the cradle of European culture. Pollux is the son of Zeus and Capella the goat that suckled Zeus as he grew up on Crete.

more
less

The vision of this exhibition was to build a link between contemporary art in Asia, where the first ZOTT’S ARTSPACE gallery was opened in Singapore, and current trends in European art. The art forms on display range from abstract and representational paintings, sculptures and photographs to multimedia installations, video art and large found object artworks. The exhibiting artists, who come from Hong Kong, Singapore, Spain, Italy, England, Germany and the USA, transform the exhibition into a place where international contemporary art comes together.

By designing a state-of-the-art exhibition space that appeals to all the senses, we want to provide visitors with an unconventional way of accessing the modern art world. The productive tension between the works on display should stimulate exciting discussions between people who hold different cultural and artistic viewpoints, ensuring that the exhibition remains in visitors’ minds long after they have left.

The Artists

Greta Alfaro

Greta Alfaro, born 1977 in Pamplona, lives and works in London. Her video artworks use symbolic and iconographic references to classic motifs from the history of art to create profound metaphors for the depth of human emotions

Sara Casal

Sara Casal, born 1980 in der northern Italian city Stadt Belluno, “is a true researcher of sensory combinations” (Flodiana Sinanaj). Her range of artistic creations includes sculptures, drawings, prints, paintings as well as digital artworks. As a member of the Pensierinversi Poeti Erranti del Bellunese, Sara Casal also devotes some of her time to poetry.

Manfred Dörner

Manfred Dörner was born in Wiesbaden. His early works mostly consisted of steel sculptures. Nowadays he uses his own technique of compiling multiple image plates to create a single, larger rectangular painting. It is not the individual work in itself, as a fixed and static entity, that interests him, but rather the potential for transformations and possibilities that are inherent to pictorial structures. The conceptual heart of his work is to reach new artistic effects through combination.

Hans-Joachim Ellerbrock

Hans-Joachim Ellerbrock began his career working in the field of documentary photography for many years for publications such as Stern, Geo, National Geographic, Merian and the New York Times Magazine. In his work, he has succeeded building a bridge between pure street photography and free use of creative methods the medium offers and artistic image compositions. His work has earned him a number of awards over the years, among them the “Art Director’s Prize,” the “Kodak Photography Book Prize,” and a “World Press Award.”

Alberto Fanelli

Alberto Fanelli, born 1965 in Milan, founded an Internet start-up making use of his professional experience in the fields of artificial intelligence and computer aided design. In 2007 he turned his lifelong passion for photography into a profession. He applies 3D-technique to landscape photos, portraits, artistic nudes, still lifes and videos and turns them into remarkable stereograms.

Matteo Lo Greco

Matteo Lo Greco in 1949 in Sicily, studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Lisbon. A pupil of Portuguese sculptor Antonio Durante and of painter Hilário Teixeira Lopes, he became an Official Member of the National Society of Fines Arts of Portugal. He has participated in many international exhibitions and has been commissioned to create works for various public spaces, among them a monumental sculpture for the architect Shigeru Uchida in Tokyo as well as the Busto di Giovan Battista Gianquinto for the city of Venice. His works are displayed among others at “Galleria Lo Greco” in Venice.

Anne Herzbluth

Anne Herzbluth, born in Heiligenhafen on the Baltic Sea, graduated from the Muthesius University in Kiel with a Master’s Degree in Art and Design. Her works have been exhibited among others at Palazzo Mora during the Biennale in Venice and at the Art Fair in Cologne. On her conception of herself as an artist, she says “I am stimulated by things that carry a particular mood or story within themselves, that strongly trigger my impulses. Snapshots of our day-to-day life. I then develop ideas from them using connections I perceive and my intuition. For me, it’s all about insight, gaining a deeper understanding.”

Iyvone Khoo

Iyvone Khoo, born 1975 in Singapore lives and works in London. She uses lens-based media to capture glimpses of an experience. Through investigational play, she finds ways of perceiving the world, and then creates light sculptures, installation art and video artworks. As a current recipient of a MEAD Fellowship from the University of Arts London, she is collaborate with scientists from the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, on a science and art project studying light-emitting organisms, such as bioluminescent algae.

Tobias Köbsch

Tobias Köbsch, born 1977 in Dresden, has developed his own figurative style, known as visionary realism. Through the aspects of his work that are critical of civilization, he can be classified as belonging to the tradition of critical realism. He also enjoys widespread recognition as an object artist. Tobias Köbsch has been awarded many prizes for his work, among them the Merkel Collection Sponsorship Award (2011).

Hubert Kostner

Hubert Kostner, born in Brixen in South Tyrol in 1971, studied at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste (Academy of Fine Arts) in Munich. The Alpine landscape surrounding his home forms the focal point of his artistic creations, as does the question of spatial perception and authenticity in idyllic natural surroundings that have been idealised and overrun by tourists. He has won numerous awards, including the Premio Agenore Fabbri and the Richard Agreiter Sculpture Prize. Following long periods in Madrid and Beijing, he now lives and works in Kastelruth, South Tyrol.

Beth Moon

The American artist Beth Moon, born 1956 in Wisconsin, has spent more than 15 years searching for and photographing some of the largest, rarest and oldest trees in the world. With her distinctive, unmistakable visual language, she has become one of the leading nature photographers of our time. Her work is held in various public and private collections, including the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, and has been published in major photography magazines. Beth Moon has received numerous prizes, among them the Golden Light Award from the Maine Photographic Workshops.

Beth Moon
Mee Ai Om

Mee Ai Om, born in Korea, studied painting in Singapore and Melbourne. Her works have been honored with among others the UOB Painting of the Year Award. The artist says of her abstract paintings, which are composed of multiple grids and translucent layers of colors: “Art is a reflection of an internal reality and should intrigue. Artwork becomes meaningful only when one encounters emotional contact with it.”

Max Schmelcher

Max Schmelcher, born 1956 in Lindenberg, Germany, studied at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste (Academy of Fine Arts) in Munich, predominantly creates his sculptures bronze, metal, wood and peat. He is also renowned for his photographic work. Works by the award-winning artist are on display in exhibitions and public places in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.

Konstantin Sotnikov

Konstantin Sotnikov, born in the Russian town of Kirowo-Tschepezk in 1979, studied at the Tambov Academy of Arts. In 2010, he completed his training with a further qualification from the Hochschule für bildende Künste (University of Fine Arts) in Hamburg. His paintings have been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Germany, Italy, Singapore and the USA, and can be found in several private collections. “Even as a child, he was fascinated by the mythical creatures of Hieronymus Bosch and the icons of Andrei Rublev. Drawing on multifaceted influences from a variety of cultures and styles of art, Konstantin Sotnikov has developed a completely original world of artistic subjects using bright plays on colour and a transcultural, trans-temporal expressivity. In his surreal, dreamlike compositions, which he also translates into sculptural works, “he creates, with magical virtuosity, a bridge between the enigmatic painting style of the Middle Ages and the shallowness of our current media-dominated reality.” (Belinda Grace Gardner)

Konstantin Sotnikov

Ausstellung

Pollux Capella

Pollux Capella

Die Welt der Kunst gleicht heute vielfach einem eigenen, unüberschaubaren Sternensystem. Es gibt längst keine verbindlichen Schulen mehr, unterschiedliche Stilrichtungen existieren gleichberechtigt nebeneinander. Hinzu kommt eine neue, einzigartige Vielfalt durch verschmelzende kulturelle Prägungen in einer globalisierten Kunstwelt. Zwar gibt es Fixsterne, die großen Namen, die übermächtig die Szene überstrahlen, doch täglich leuchten neue Sterne am Kunsthimmel auf – einige um zu bleiben, andere um schnell wieder zu verglühen.

Die Ausstellung „Pollux Capella“, mit der sich ZOTT’S ARTSPACE Dolomites erstmals dem Publikum präsentiert, möchte diese Vielfalt abbilden und dabei der Dauerhaftigkeit der gezeigten Arbeiten hinsichtlich ihrer Eigenständigkeit und ihrer künstlerischen Ausdruckskraft einen besonderen Stellenwert geben. Pollux und Capella, die beiden Sterne, deren Licht die Ausstellung im Winter-Hexagon von Januar bis März begleitet, haben ihren Namensursprung in der griechischen Mythologie, der Wiege der europäischen Kultur: Pollux als Sohn von Zeus und Capella als die Ziege, von der Zeus genährt wurde, als er auf Kreta aufwuchs.

mehr
weniger

Den Bogen zu spannen von der Gegenwartskunst in Asien, wo die Galerie ZOTT’S ARTSPACE ihren ersten Standort in Singapur eröffnete, zu aktuellen Strömungen der europäischen Kunst, war die Idee dieser Ausstellung. Die Bandbreite der ausgestellten Werke reicht von abstrakter wie gegenständlicher Malerei über Bildhauerei, Fotographie, multimedialen Installationen und Video-Kunst bis zu raumgreifender Objekt-Kunst. Die teilnehmenden Künstler, die aus Hongkong, Singapur, Spanien, Italien, England, Deutschland und den USA kommen, machen die Ausstellung zu einem Begegnungsort der internationalen zeitgenössischen Kunst.

Mit einem modernen Ausstellungskonzept, das alle Sinne anspricht, möchten wir den Besuchern einen unkonventionellen Zugang zur aktuellen Kunstlandschaft bieten. Aus der produktiven Spannung zwischen den ausgestellten Arbeiten sollen sich anregende Dialoge ergeben zwischen verschiedenen kulturellen und künstlerischen Positionen, die das Erleben der Ausstellung über den Besuch hinaus weiterführen.

Die Künstler

Greta Alfaro

Greta Alfaro, geboren 1977 in Pamplona, lebt und arbeitet in London. Mit ihrer Videokunst schafft sie hintergründige Metaphern für die Abgründe menschlicher Leidenschaften mit symbolischen und ikonografischen Bezügen zu klassischen Motiven der Kunstgeschichte.

Sara Casal

Sara Casal, geboren 1980 in der norditalienischen Stadt Belluno, ist „ eine wahre Forscherin der sensorischen Kombinationen“ (Flodiana Sinanaj). Zum Spektrum ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit zählen Bildhauerei, Zeichnung, Druckgrafik, Malerei und neuerdings auch digitale Grafik. Darüber hinaus widmet sich Sara Casal als Mitglied der Gruppe „Pensierinversi Poeti Erranti del Bellunese” der Poesie. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Forno di Zoldo (Belluno) und in Venedig.

Manfred Dörner

Manfred Dörner, geboren in Wiesbaden, widmete sich in seinen frühen Arbeiten vor allem der Stahlplastik. Heute malt er nach seinem eigenen Prinzip der Zusammenstellung von Bildtafeln zu einem größeren Rechteck. Nicht das einzelne Werk als festgelegte und statische Größe interessiert ihn, sondern dessen Potenzial an Wandlungen und Möglichkeiten. Der konzeptionelle Kern seines Werks liegt darin, durch Kombinationen neue Bildwirkungen zu erzielen.

Hans-Joachim Ellerbrock

Hans-Joachim Ellerbrock begann seine Karriere im Bereich der Dokumentarfotografie. für Magazine wie Stern, Geo, National Geographic, Merian und das New York Times Magazine. In seinem fotografischen Werk gelingt ihm der Brückenschlag von der puristischen Straßenfotografie zum freien Umgang mit den gestalterischen Mitteln des Mediums und artistischen Bildkomposition. Für seine Arbeiten erhielt er zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den „Art Director’s Prize“, den „Kodak Photography Book Prize“ und einen „World Press Award”.

Alberto Fanelli

Alberto Fanelli, geboren 1965 in Mailand, gründete mit seiner Erfahrung in den Bereichen künstliche Intelligenz und computergestütztes Konstruktionsdesign zunächst ein Internet-Start-up. Seit 2007 widmet er sich professionell seiner lebenslangen Leidenschaft, der Fotografie. Er bearbeitet Landschaftsfotos, Portraits, Akt-Fotografien, Stillleben und Videos mit 3D-Techniken und verwandelt sie in ungewöhnliche Raumbilder.

Matteo Lo Greco

Matteo Lo Greco, geboren 1949 in Sizilien, studierte an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Lissabon. Als Schüler des Bildhauers Antonio Durante und des Malers Hilário Teixeira Lopes wurde er offizielles Mitglied der National Society of Fine Arts von Portugal. Er hat international an zahlreichen Ausstellungen teilgenommen und wurde mit dem Entwurf verschiedener Werke im öffentlichen Raum beauftragt, darunter einer monumentalen Skulptur für den Architekten Shigeru Uchida in Tokio sowie der Busto di Giovanbattista Giaquinto für die Stadt Venedig. Seine Werke sind u. a. in der “Galleria Lo Greco” im Zentrum von Venedig ausgestellt.

Anne Herzbluth

Die Malerin Anne Herzbluth, 1962 geboren in Heiligenhafen an der Ostsee, studierte an der Muthesius-Universität in Kiel Kunst und Design. Ihre Bilder wurden u. a. im Rahmen der Biennale in Venedig oder der Art Fair Köln ausgestellt. Über ihr künstlerisches Selbstverständnis sagt sie: „Mein Antrieb sind Dinge, die jeweils eine bestimmte Stimmung oder Geschichte in sich tragen, die einen starken Impuls in mir auslösen. Schnappschüsse unseres Alltags. Daraus entwickle ich dann die Idee – durch Verknüpfungen und Intuition. Es geht um die innere Einsicht, ein tieferes Verständnis.“

Iyvone Khoo

Iyvone Khoo, geboren 1975 in Singapur, lebt und arbeitet in London. Die Künstlerin nutzt fotografische Medien, um den Moment einer Erfahrung einzufangen. Auf experimentelle Weise erforscht sie mit der Kamera neue Wege zur Wahrnehmung der Umwelt. So entstehen Lichtskulpturen, Installationen und Filmwerke. Als MEAD Fellow der University of Arts London beschäftigte sie sich mit Forschern der Scripps Institution of Oceanography in den USA mit lichtemittierenden Organismen wie biolumineszenten Algen.

Tobias Köbsch

Tobias Köbsch, geboren 1977 in Dresden, hat in seiner Malerei einen eigenständigen figurativen Stil etabliert, der als „Visionärer Realismus“ bezeichnet wird. Mit seiner zivilisationskritischen Komponente steht er in der Traditionslinie des Kritischen Realismus. Auch als Objektkünstler genießt Tobias Köbsch hohe Anerkennung. Für seine Arbeiten wurde er mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der Förderpreis der Merkel Collection (2011).

Hubert Kostner

Hubert Kostner, geboren 1971 in Brixen, studiert an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München. Im Zentrum seiner Arbeit stehen die alpine Landschaft und die Frage nach der räumlichen Erfahrung und Authentizität einer touristisch angeeigneten, idealisierten Naturidylle. Er ist Träger des Premio Agenore Fabbri und des Kunstpreises für Bildhauerei Richard Agreiter. Nach längeren Aufenthalten in Madrid und Peking lebt und arbeitet er heute in Kastelruth, Südtirol.

Beth Moon

Die US-amerikanische Künstlerin Beth Moon, geboren 1956 in Neenah, Wisconsin, widmet sich in ihrem fotografischen Werk seit mehr als 15 Jahren den ältesten, mächtigsten und seltensten Bäumen der Erde. Mit ihrer eigenen, unverwechselbaren Bildsprache wurde sie zu einer führenden Vertreterin der künstlerischen Naturfotografie unserer Zeit. Ihre Arbeiten sind u. a. im Museum of Fine Arts in Houston zu sehen und wurden in den wichtigsten Magazinen für Fotografie veröffentlicht. Beth Moon erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen wie den Golden Light Award der Maine Photographic Workshops.

Beth Moon
Mee Ai Om

Mee Ai Om, geboren in Korea, studierte Malerei in Singapur und Melbourne. Für ihre Arbeiten wurde sie u. a. mit dem UOB Painting of the Year Award ausgezeichnet. Über ihre abstrakte Malerei aus vervielfachten Gittern und lichtdurchlässigen Farben sagt sie: „Kunst ist ein Spiegelbild der inneren Wirklichkeit und sollte faszinieren. Kunstwerke werden nur dann aussagekräftig, wenn man einen emotionalen Kontakt zu ihnen aufbaut.“

Max Schmelcher

Max Schmelcher, geboren 1956 in Lindenberg, studierte an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München, gestaltet als Bildhauer vorwiegend mit Bronze, Metall, Holz und Moor. Darüber hinaus ist er für seine Fotoarbeiten bekannt. Mit Ausstellungen und Arbeiten im öffentlichen Raum ist der vielfach ausgezeichnete Künstler in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz vertreten.

Konstantin Sotnikov

Konstantin Sotnikov wurde 1979 im russischen Kirowo-Tschepezk geboren. Schon als Kind war er fasziniert von den Fabelwesen des Hieronymus Bosch und den Ikonen von Andrei Rubljow, die er in der elterlichen Kunstbibliothek fand. Aus den vielfältigen Einflüssen unterschiedlicher Kulturen und Kunststile entwickelte der in Hamburg lebende Künstler Gemälde und Skulpturen mit leuchtendem Farbspiel und transkultureller, transtemporaler Expressivität.

Konstantin Sotnikov