About ZOTT Artspace

“Pollux Capella” Exhibition, ZOTT Artspace Dolomites

Locations

MOUNTAINS – VALLEYS – CITY LIGHTS

ZOTT Artspace is a growing art platform. The first two exhibition spaces were opened by founder Christian Zott at two vastly different locations: Singapore and San Cassiano in the Dolomites. One in a lively, heavily urbanized metropolis full of diversity, the other high in the Alps. Both locations were and are connected by a common goal: the creation of a relaxing atmosphere that allows visitors to break with normal viewing habits and enjoy art. The same is true of ZOTT Artspace, which opened in May 2017, and mSE Art Hall, which is in the planning phase.

Construction Begins at Weiherfeld: Entrepreneur Christian Zott brings art, innovation and gastronomy together in Unterammergau (Film in German)

ZOTT Artspace Munich – In May 2017, ZOTT Artspace Munich opened in Türkenstrasse near the centrally located Pinakotheken museums. Initially, the premises will be mainly used as a project room for the exhibition “KAIROS. The Right Moment”. Visitors can learn more about the project and the works by Wolfgang Beltracchi and Mauro Fiorese on Fridays at 4 p.m.

ZOTT Artspace Dolomites – In the northern Italian mountain village San Cassiano, which lies at an altitude of 1500 meters amid the picturesque rock formations in the Dolomites, ZOTT Artspace exhibits contemporary art from established artists and young talent from the region. The backdrop, rather unusual for cultural offerings, aims to break with fixed viewing habits.

ZOTT Artspace Singapore (2014 – May 2017) – Christian Zott opened ZOTT Artspace’s first location in the heart of the Asian metropolis Singapore in 2014. Large-scale paintings by Russian-born Konstantin Sotnikov and works by American photographer Beth Moon were been presented here to an international audience.

ZOTT Art Hall – A museum for contemporary art is being constructed in Ammer Valley, Christian Zott’s native region. The museum will exhibit part of Zott’s private collection of paintings, sculpture and photographs. The artists Lois Anvidalfarei has erected an extensive outdoor installation on site, the new art hall is due to open in 2019.

Interview

Interview with Christian Zott

Mr. Zott, what’s the idea behind ZOTT Artspace?
ZOTT Artspace offers a new approach to art.

And what does that look like?
Oriented toward sensory experiences and relaxation. In the Dolomites, for example, we show art in an exhibition space located high up in the mountains. This alone is enough to break with normal viewing habits, which tend to connect art with big cities, museums, white cubes etc. Our goal in Singapore was to combine art with cuisine. So at ZOTT Artspace, it’s always about directly addressing the senses.

Doesn’t art always address the senses?
That’s correct. But the question is if it really achieves this goal. I think there is a gap in the art world between museums, with their primarily classical approach to imparting knowledge, and the galleries, which mainly reach an elite group of insiders. I want to invite visitors to develop their own views of art without being under any pressure, regardless of whether they know anything about it or not.

more
less

Form an opinion without knowing anything?
To find out if a work of art touches you, you really only have to develop an awareness of your own feelings. Only then can art be inspirational. As long as we mystify art, there will not be much room for inspiration and enjoyment.

What kind of art do you exhibit at ZOTT Artspace?
Only contemporary art. Sculptures, paintings, video art, photographs …

Is there anything you focus especially on?
Definitely. I collect mainly figurative works. For example, sculptures by Lois Anvidalfarei, whose powerful existentialism really impresses me. Or the American Beth Moon, who travels all around the world to find ancient trees and, with her specialized developing technique, makes them last hundreds of years. What amazing dedication and aesthetics.

How do you find artists?
I travel a lot, look around and happen upon artworks. I met the photographer Mauro Fiorese during my hiking trip across Southern Europe. He was standing in front of his gallery and we got into a conversation. He has had a strong influence on my relationship to art over the past few years, and we have had several exhibitions together.

In „Mind Map of Love“ you exhibited your own photographs. You are a business consultant and art patron. Are you an artist as well?
I am not an artist but photography was the best medium to convey my impressions of the trip, during which I thought intensively about love and after which I wrote the book “Mind Map of Love”. Does that make me an author? Not really.What has influenced you in your life? The first few years after starting my company, but also my adventure travel trips. Hiking through the wilderness in Canada or across ice fields in Greenland. If you leave everything you’re dealing with here behind, and only focus on your day-to-day survival for months, you come back with a fresh perspective. And that is what guides my dedication to art.

Your biggest project is called “Kairos. The Right Moment“. What is the project about?
It brings the gaps in 2000 years of European art to light; the works hidden in museum archives and the major events in art history that were never painted. Wolfgang Beltracchi is creating paintings in the artistic voices of great masters like Caspar David Friedrich, Claude Monet and others for the project. Where did the idea for the project come from? It started with the series “Treasure Rooms” by Mauro Fiorese. He got access to the archives of major museums and photographed them. The surprisingly atmospheric photos, which we will be exhibiting in “Kairos. The Right Moment” as well, made me start thinking. The question presented itself: how much of our cultural inheritance do we actually see?

Wolfgang Beltracchi is a controversial artist. Why did you decide to work with him?
His talent is unique. This project is not just about top-quality technical abilities and knowledge. That would potentially be enough for making good copies, but he has to create new works using someone else’s artistic voice, and has to convincingly compose them in great detail and contextually further develop an existing work. He also lets others look over his shoulder while working to see, for example, how Caravaggio used shadows and lights to achieve dramatic effects, as well as his legendary method of picking his models, which propagated the mythos of his being a disreputable artist.

When and where will the works be shown?
The exhibition is starting in October 2018 in Venice and will then travel on to other European cities, including Hamburg, but you can already keep up with how the project is progressing now on our website. How the ideas for motif and paintings are developed and created.

 

 

Team

The Team Behind ZOTT Artspace

Christian Zott has progressed from an art collector to an art patron over the years, and with his platform ZOTT Artspace he offers room for new artistic thinking to unfold. This includes ideas from young artists, who exhibit in his spaces, but also from his own projects. Christian Zott’s growing involvement in art is accompanied and supported by a competent and passionate team.

Über ZOTT Artspace

Ausstellung „Pollux Capella“, ZOTT Artspace Dolomites

STANDORTE

STADT – LAND – FLUSS

ZOTT Artspace ist eine wachsende Kunstplattform. Ihre ersten beiden Ausstellungsräume eröffnete Gründer Christian Zott an zwei Standorten, die unterschiedlicher kaum sein könnten: Singapur und Sankt Kassian in den Dolomiten. Hier das quirlige kontrastreiche Leben auf engstem Raum, da die freie Bergwelt. Beide Standorte verband und verbindet ein gemeinsames Ziel: in entspannter Atmosphäre Sehgewohnheiten aufbrechen und Kunst genießen. Das gilt auch für das im Mai 2017 eröffnete ZOTT Artspace München und die künftige Kunsthalle in Unterammergau.

ZOTT Artspace München – Im Mai 2017 eröffnete ZOTT Artspace München in der Türkenstraße, zentral gelegen neben den Pinakotheken. Zunächst dienen die Räumlichkeiten vorwiegend als Projektraum für die Ausstellung „KAIROS. Der richtige Moment“ und als Atelier für Wolfgang Beltracchi. Für das ZOTT Artspace-Projekt malt er hier zahlreiche Bilder in der Handschrift großer Meister wie Caravaggio, Van Gogh oder Monet – und öffnet die Räume zeitweise für Besucher.

ZOTT Artspace Dolomites – In dem norditalienischen Wintersportort Sankt Kassian, gelegen auf 1.500 Metern Höhe inmitten der malerischen Felsformationen der Dolomiten, stellt ZOTT Artspace zeitgenössische Werke etablierter Künstler ebenso wie junger Talente aus der Region aus. Die für ein kulturelles Angebot eher ungewöhnliche Kulisse soll feste Sehgewohnheiten aufbrechen.

ZOTT Artspace Singapur (2014 – Mai 2017) – Im Herzen der asiatischen Metropole Singapur eröffnete Christian Zott 2014 den ersten Standort von ZOTT Artspace. Die großformatigen Bilder des Malers Konstantin Sotnikow oder Fotos der US-amerikanischen Fotografin Beth Moon wurden hier vor internationalem Publikum ausgestellt.

ZOTT Kunsthalle – Im Ammertal, der Heimat von Christian Zott, entsteht ein Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst. Hier stellt er künftig einen Teil seiner Sammlung von Gemälden, Skulpturen und Fotografien aus. Der Künstler Lois Anvidalfarei errichtet aus diesem Anlass eine raumgreifende Installation in freier Natur. 2019 soll die neue Kunsthalle eröffnet werden.

Interview

Gespräch mit Christian Zott

Hinter ZOTT Artspace steht der Unternehmensberater Christian Zott. Was er mit seiner Kunstplattform erreichen will und was sie bietet, erklärt er im Interview.

Herr Zott, Was steckt hinter ZOTT Artspace?
ZOTT Artspace ist ein Angebot für einen neuen Zugang zu Kunst.

Wie sieht der aus?
Auf das sinnliche Erlebnis ausgerichtet und entspannt. In den Dolomiten etwa zeigen wir Kunst in einem Ausstellungsraum hoch oben in den Bergen. Allein durch diese Präsentation brechen wir Sehgewohnheiten auf, die Kunst eher mit Großstadt, Museum, White-Cube und so weiter verbindet. In Singapur war die Idee, inmitten der Kunst auch sehr gut zu essen und zu trinken. Bei ZOTT Artspace geht es also immer um ein unmittelbares Ansprechen der Sinne.

Wendet sich Kunst nicht immer an die Sinne?
Das ist richtig. Die Frage ist aber doch, ob sie da auch ankommt. Ich glaube, dass es im Kunstangebot eine Lücke gibt zwischen den Museen mit ihrem überwiegend kanonischen Anspruch und den Galerien, die vorwiegend eine eingeweihte Elite erreichen. Ich möchte Besucher einladen, ungezwungen ihre eigenen Ansichten zur Kunst zu entwickeln. Egal, ob sie Ahnung davon haben oder nicht.

mehr
weniger

Sich eine Meinung bilden ohne Ahnung?
Um festzustellen, ob Sie ein Werk berührt, müssen Sie eigentlich nur ein Bewusstsein für Ihr Empfinden entwickeln. Dann kann Kunst inspirieren.

Welche Kunst stellen Sie in ZOTT Artspace aus?
Ausschließlich Zeitgenössisches. Skulpturen, Gemälde, Videokunst, Fotografien…

Setzen Sie dabei Schwerpunkte?
Durchaus. Ich sammle in erster Linie figurative Arbeiten. Zum Beispiel Skulpturen von Lois Anvidalfarei, der mich als Bildhauer mit seinem kraftvollen Existenzialismus begeistert. Oder die Amerikanerin Beth Moon, die durch die ganze Welt reist, um alte Bäume aufzuspüren und ihre Fotos mit einem besonderen Verfahren Jahrhunderte lang haltbar macht. Was für eine Hingabe und Ästhetik.

Wie kommen Sie auf die Künstler?
Ich reise viel, sehe mich um und stoße auf Werke. Den Fotografen Mauro Fiorese lernte ich auf meiner Wanderung durch Südeuropa kennen. Er stand vor seiner Galerie und wir kamen ins Gespräch. Er hat mein Verhältnis zur Kunst in den vergangenen Jahren stark beeinflusst und wir haben einige gemeinsame Ausstellungen gemacht.

In „Mindmap der Liebe“ haben Sie auch eigene Fotografien ausgestellt. Sie sind Unternehmer, Kunstförderer. Auch Künstler?
Ich bin natürlich kein Künstler. Trotzdem war die Fotografie das richtige Vehikel, um meine Eindrücke von der Reise zu vermitteln, in der ich intensiv über die Liebe nachgedacht habe und nach der ich auch das Buch „Mindmap der Liebe“ geschrieben habe. Bin ich deshalb ein Schriftsteller? Eher nicht.

Was prägt sie?
Die Gründerjahre als Unternehmer, aber auch extreme Reisen. Wanderungen durch die Wildnis Kanadas oder durch das Packeis in Grönland. Wenn Sie alles zurücklassen, was Sie hier beschäftigt und monatelang nur das Überleben Ihren Alltag bestimmt, kommen Sie mit einem unbelasteten Blick zurück. Der leitet mein Engagement für die Kunst.

Ihr größtes Projekt heißt „Kairos. Der richtige Moment“. Worum geht es?
Es macht Leerstellen aus 2000 Jahren europäischer Kunst sichtbar: die verborgenen Werke in den Museumsarchiven und die großen Momente der Kunstgeschichte, die nie gemalt wurden. Wolfgang Beltracchi malt für dieses Projekt Bilder in der Handschrift großer Meister wie Jan Vermeer, Claude Monet und anderer epochemachender Künstler.

Was brachte Sie auf diese Idee?
Ausgangspunkt war die Serie „Treasure Rooms“ von Mauro Fiorese. Er hatte Zugang zu den Depots bedeutender Museen erhalten und dort fotografiert. Seine für mich überraschend stimmungsvollen Bilder, die wir in „Kairos. Der richtige Moment“ ebenfalls ausstellen werden, haben mich nachdenklich gemacht. Die Frage drängt sich auf: Was sehen wir überhaupt von unserem kulturellen Erbe?

Wolfgang Beltracchi ist als Künstler umstritten. Warum arbeiten Sie gerade mit ihm?
Sein Talent ist einzigartig. Es geht bei diesem Projekt ja nicht allein um erstklassige technische Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse. Die reichen vielleicht für eine gute Kopie. Er muss neue Bilder in fremden Handschriften bis ins Detail überzeugend komponieren und ein bestehendes Werk kontextuell weiterentwickeln. Außerdem lässt er sich über die Schulter gucken. Zu sehen, wie zum Beispiel Caravaggio die Hell-Dunkel-Malerei für dramatisierende Effekte eingesetzt hat, und natürlich seine legendäre Auswahl der Modelle, die den Mythos des verruchten Künstlers begründeten. Das macht Wolfgang Belracchi erlebbar.

Wann und wo ist all das zu sehen?
Die Ausstellung startet im Oktober 2018 in Venedig und besucht dann weitere europäische Städte, darunter Hamburg. Auf unserer Webseite lässt sich jetzt schon verfolgen, wie sie wächst, wie die Bildideen und Gemälde aus den Epochen entstehen.

Team

Das Team hinter ZOTT Artspace

Christian Zott hat sich im Laufe der Jahre vom Sammler zum Kunstförderer entwickelt, der mit seiner Plattform ZOTT Artspace neuen künstlerischen Gedanken Raum zur Entfaltung gibt. Dazu zählen Ideen junger Künstler, die er in seinen Räumlichkeiten ausstellt, aber auch seine eigenen Projekte. Das wachsende Kunstengagement von Christian Zott wird von einem vielköpfigen Team begleitet und unterstützt.