Puffy Eyes and Double Chins

German Renaissance

Lucas Cranach the Elder, „Das ungleiche Paar “ (1)

15h and 16th Centuries

German Renaissance – and Cranach Paints for the Reformation

The Renaissance era held Europe in its grip for nearly two hundred years, but the return to philosophies of the classical era and society’s intensive introspection called the existing worldview into question. Copernicus places the sun at the center of the universe, Columbus discovers America, Gutenberg invents letterpress printing and Martin Luther reforms the church.

The search for knowledge and truth leaves traces on canvases as well; in the studios of German painters like Albrecht Dürer, Lucas Cranach and Hans Baldung, new techniques for life-like portrayals of their motifs emerged. Realistic portraits, true-to-life proportions and a central perspective characterize the works of the German Renaissance.

Wolfgang Beltracchi in his studio in Montpellier, March 2017. After studying in detail how Lucas Cranach the Elder composed and created his works, he paints using the master’s artistic voice.

A memorial stone in Sotternheim near Erfurt commemorates the crucial turning point in Martin Luther’s life. It was here that the young law student, in his terror at being caught in a thunderstorm, promised himself to the Church on July 2, 1505 (left)

In studies for the painting using the artistic voice of Lucas Cranach the Elder, Wolfgang Beltracchi sketches the pleading gesture that Lucas Cranach the Elder could have used to paint the future religious reformer (right)

Fast, faster, Cranach

The Cranach studio was in effect a picture factory for the Reformation, but they never turned Martin Luther’s legendary thunderstorm experience into a picture. Wolfgang Beltracchi shows how it could have looked. The “speed painter” Cranach developed a highly efficient process. For fields and forests he used a dark prime coat and created form-shaping contours with a maximum of one to three colors. Flesh was primed with a very light color, painted over with skin tones and then modeled with lights and shadows. Use of various brushes, applied using dabs or strokes, helped him portray different types of surfaces. Cranach normally started from the center of the picture, working his way to the periphery, and his final step was to apply lights and shadows to faces. He usually completed his more elaborate-looking paintings in only a few weeks.

Five Facts

German Renaissance
Albrecht Dürer and Lucas Cranach the Elder are figureheads of the German Renaissance. Additionally, Hans Balding and the Danube School influenced German painting in the 15th and 16th centuries.

1. COURAGE TO SHOW THE TRUTH
True-to-life portrayal of people was central to German Renaissance painting. Nothing is glossed over: sagging breasts, idiotic expressions, sallow skin. What mattered most was adhering to reality.

2. CORRECT PROPORTIONS
In his relentless pursuit of the most realistic portrayal possible, Albrecht Dürer set new standards for the proportionality of forms. In his main written work about proportion theory “Four Books on Human Proportion” he presents his naturalistic, systematical studies of the human body. Published using the relatively new printing press method, they quickly spread throughout the European art scene.

3. FULL OF MEANING
The German Renaissance was still very rooted in symbolism, as was common in the Gothic period. A cloak stands for protection, cloves for the Passion of Christ, fruit for overcoming the original sin, squirrels and foxes, as companions of the Devil, for evil – the list of the symbols used goes on and on.

4. IN PERSPECTIVE
Use of the vanishing point for perspective was widespread during the German Renaissance. Introduced by Dutch and Italian painters, it was soon commonly used by artists throughout Germany.

5. PRODUCTIVE
Renaissance painters are quite productive. Dürer alone created around 90 paintings, 100 engravings, 300 woodcuts and 400 book illustrations. Lucas Cranach the Elder was unbeatable during his time; around 5,000 works were produced in his studio – with the help of apprentices, who used an easily acquired dabbing technique, thus leaving no traces of their own styles behind.

Hans Baldung „Die sieben Lebensalter des Weibes“ (2)

Albrecht Dürer “Proportionsstudie einer nackten Frau mit Schild” (3)

Lucas Cranach the Elder „Martin Luther in Amtstracht des evangelischen Geistlichen“ (4)

A JOURNEY THROUGH THE HISTORY OF ART

Image sources:

1: Lucas Cranach the Elder „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
2: Hans Baldung „Die sieben Lebensalter des Weibes“. © bpk | Museum der bildenden Künste, Leipzig | Ursula Gerstenberger
3: Albrecht Dürer “Proportionsstudie einer nackten Frau mit Schild” ca. 1500. © bpk | Kupferstichkabinett, SMB / Jörg P. Anders
4: Lucas Cranach the Elder. „Martin Luther in Amtstracht des evangelischen Geistlichen“. © bpk / Deutsches Historisches Museum / Sebastian Ahlers
a: Lucas Cranach the Elder „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY
c: Gustav Klimt „Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I” 1907.  © John Baran / Alamy Stock Foto.
d: Detail from „The oldest known icon of Christ, 6-7th C“ © www.BibleLandPictures.com/Alamy Stock Foto
e: Detail from Hendrick Avercamp: Winter Landscape with Skaters, ca. 1608 © Peter Horree / Alamy Stock Photo
f: Detail from William Turner, The Burning of the Houses of Parliament, 1834 © World History Archive / Alamy Stock Photo
g: Detail from Caspar David Friedrich, Wanderer im Nebelmeer, 1818. © Pictorial Press Ltd / Alamy Stock Photo
h: Detail from Girl Reading a Letter at an Open Window, Jan Vermeer, 1557 © Archivart / Alamy Stock Photo

Tränensäcke und Doppelkinn

Deutsche Renaissance

Lucas Cranach d. Ä., „Das ungleiche Paar “ (1)

15. und 16. Jahrhundert

Deutsche Renaissance – und Cranach malt für die Reformation

Wolfgang Beltracchi im März 2017 in seinem Atelier in Montpellier. Nachdem er den Bildaufbau und die Technik von Lucas Cranach d. Ä. genau studiert hat, malt er in seiner Handschrift.

Ein Gedenkstein in Stotternheim bei Erfurt erinnert an die entscheidende Wende im Leben Martin Luthers. Hier hat er sich als junger Jurastudent am 2. Juli 1505 in seiner Todesangst vor einem Gewitter der Kirche versprochen (Bild links)

In Vorarbeiten für das Gemälde in der Handschrift von Lucas Cranach d. Ä., skizziert Wolfgang Beltracchi den flehenden Gestus, in dem Lucas Cranach d. Ä. den späteren Reformator hätte malen können (Bild rechts)

Schnell, schneller, Cranach

Die Cranach-Werkstatt war eine wahre Bilderfabrik der Reformation. Doch das legendäre Gewittererlebnis Martin Luthers hatte sie nicht zum Bild verarbeitet. Wolfgang Beltracchi zeigt, wie es hätte aussehen können. Der „Schnellmaler“ Cranach hatte eine höchst effiziente Technik entwickelt. Wiesen und Wälder grundierte er dunkel und schuf mit höchstens ein bis drei Farben formgebende Konturen. Inkarnate wurden sehr hell grundiert, mit einem Hautton überzogen und dann mit Licht und Schatten modelliert. Die Beschaffenheit des Pinsels half ihm, gestupft oder gestrichen, unterschiedliche Oberflächen darzustellen. Cranach arbeitete sich meist vom Zentrum an die Peripherie des Bildes vor. Zuletzt aber setzte er Licht und Schatten auf die Gesichter. An einem aufwendig wirkenden Gemälde malte er in der Regel nur wenige Wochen.

Fünf Fakten

Die deutsche Renaissance
Albrecht Dürer und Lucas Cranach d. Ä. sind die Galionsfiguren der Deutsche Renaissance. Auch Hans Baldung sowie die Donauschule prägten die deutsche Malerei des 15. und 16. Jahrhunderts.

1. MUT ZUR WAHRHEIT
Die naturgetreue Abbildung des Menschen steht im Mittelpunkt der deutschen Renaissance-Malerei. Nichts wird mehr beschönigt: hängende Brüste, dümmlicher Gesichtsausdruck, fahle Haut – Hauptsache nah an der Realität.

2. IN DEN RICHTIGEN PROPORTIONEN
Mit seinem unnachgiebigen Streben nach Realitätsnähe setzt Albrecht Dürer neue Maßstäbe in der Verhältnismäßigkeit der Formen. In seinem schriftlichen Hauptwerk „Vier Bücher von menschlicher Proportion“ stellt er seine naturalistischen, systematischen Untersuchungen des menschlichen Körpers vor. Durch den noch jungen Buchdruck verbreiten sie sich schnell in der europäischen Kunstszene.

3. BEDEUTUNGSVOLL
Die deutsche Renaissance ist noch stark der Symbolik verhaftet, wie wir sie aus der Gotik kennen. So steht der Mantel für Schutz, Nelken für die Passion Christi, eine Frucht für die Überwindung der Erbsünde, Eichhörnchen und Fuchs als Begleiter des Teufels für das Böse – die Liste der verwendeten Sinnbilder ist lang.

4. PERSPEKTIVISCH
Auch in der deutschen Renaissance erobert die Fluchtpunkt-Perspektive die Malerei. Eingeführt von niederländischen und italienischen Malern gehört sie bald auch für die deutschen Vertreter zum Handwerkszeug.

5. PRODUKTIV
Die Renaissance-Maler sind produktiv. Allein Dürer erstellt etwa 90 Gemälde, 100 Stiche, 300 Holzschnitte und 400 Buchillustrationen. Uneinholbar für seine Zeit: Lucas Crananch d. Ä.. Rund 5.000 Werke sollen in seiner Werkstatt entstanden sein – mit Unterstützung der Gesellen, die durch eine leicht erlernbare Tupftechnik keine eigene Handschrift hinterlassen.

Hans Baldung „Die sieben Lebensalter des Weibes“ (2)

Albrecht Dürer „Proportionsstudie einer nackten Frau mit Schild“ (3)

Lucas Cranach d. Ä. „Martin Luther in Amtstracht des evangelischen Geistlichen“ (4)

EINE ZEITREISE DURCH DIE KUNSTGESCHICHTE

Bildquellen:

1: Lucas Cranach d. Ä. „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
2: Hans Baldung „Die sieben Lebensalter des Weibes“. © bpk | Museum der bildenden Künste, Leipzig | Ursula Gerstenberger
3: Albrecht Dürer „Proportionsstudie einer nackten Frau mit Schild“, ca. 1500. © bpk | Kupferstichkabinett, SMB / Jörg P. Anders
4: Lucas Cranach d. Ä. „Martin Luther in Amtstracht des evangelischen Geistlichen“. © bpk / Deutsches Historisches Museum / Sebastian Ahler
a: Lucas Cranach d. Ä. „Ungleiches Paar (Der alte Buhler)“. © bpk / Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
b: Franz Marc „Ställe“ 1913. © bpk / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY